Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Doberman mix
  • Gender: Female, spayed
  • Age: 6 years young!
  • Size: 65 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Many!
    • Cats? Nah, I’m too interested!
    • Kids? 14+

Hi, I my name is Thea and I am an athletic, friendly, very good-natured and snuggly girl!

History and Why I am Looking for a New Home

I was adopted as a puppy by my current mom and have lived happily in my current home since. I’ve been a great girl, and have lived well with the male dog in my home, and also with the female dog in my current home until I came into heat. That was about 3 years ago, and since then, our fights have become more frequent, and more serious. Right now, I am recovering from wounds from the most recent fight and our mom has had to keep the other dog in a crate most of the time, and me on a tie-out in the house, which is super unpleasant for us both, but it’s the only way our mom can keep us safe from each other, and we are grateful for that. But it’s not a long-term solution, of course. Our mom has been so hoping that she could keep us both, but it’s come to the point where it’s way too stressful and dangerous for us all. Mom thinks that I will be the most adaptable and most helped by moving to a home. We think I would do great as an only dog, and maybe also if there is only 1 other dog in the home and he is a male.


I am a super sweet girl! I am affectionate and love to curl up next to my owner on the couch! I also love her attention, and love it when she wants to play games with me and take me for walks! My favorite game to pay in the yard is “Catch!” and then my next favorite game to play is “And now you chase me and I will run away with the thing I have caught!” I am devoted to my current owner and love to accompany her wherever she goes. I know I will feel and do the same when I have a new owner! I used to have a little bit of separation anxiety, but I have grown out of that and only have occasional accidents. I might be anxious for the first few weeks in my new home, and might have a few accidents, but once I start to feel safe and secure in my new home, all will be great!

I am a super smart girl! And can do what you ask of me most of the time. For instance, I walk well on the leash if you tell me “Easy”, and I will usually Sit or Lie Down when asked to do so, especially when we are indoors. I am much more excited and distracted when we are outside (I love it outside! I love walks! I love a fenced yard! I love seeing everything moving about!) and so it’s harder for me to do what you ask in those situations. It would be great for someone to use positive reinforcement techniques with me to help me get better at focusing on you and doing what you ask when we are outside, and I am more excited/distracted. I just need consistent practice…and lots of treats for doing it!! And some understanding that Dobermans have an independent streak, so try to have some humor when I have my own ideas about things from time to time!

I am a very athletic girl! I love to stretch my legs and run when outside, so a fenced yard or electronic fencing system would be ideal. I do chase wildlife, and this is pretty wired into my genetics and unlikely to change with training, so if you don’t have a fenced yard, I need you to keep me on leash at all times when I am outside. I am NOT the kind of dog who you can safely let out into an unfenced yard to “do my business.”

I get anxious during car rides, so my owner has found it best to make certain I don’t eat right before going on a trip. But again, if you worked with me on this, if we did small car rides often and you could make them very fun (maybe having a friend or family member sit in the back with me and feed me treats the whole time), I would probably get less anxious over time!

Even though I am 6 years old, I still act often like a puppy! I seem to know how beautiful I am and will pose for photos when you pull out the camera! I also have a habit of crossing my front legs when lying down and looking at you as if I am “quite the little lady,” haha!! 😊


I am a little shy at first with people I don’t know, but have NEVER shown any aggression of any sort with people. Once I get to know you a bit, then I am your best friend!

I might get along just fine with the right dog (an older male perhaps?), but best that I don’t live with another female dog.

I seem very interested in cats, so probably best that I live in a cat-free home.

I have never been around young children, so probably best to stick to older kids if there are kids in the home. Maybe teenage or older?

Favorite Activities

  • Running! I might make a great jogging partner.
  • Cuddling on the couch next to my person!
  • Playing “fetch” and “keep away!”
  • Learning new things…I have an active mind and love to learn! Especially with treats as rewards!
  • Going anywhere that you go! Being with you!


I am a very healthy girl. I was spayed in 2021 and had an annual exam then and got my booster shots. I could use another annual exam when I go to my new home, as it’s been more than a year. I wear a flea and tick collar most of the time. I am happy and healthy and showing no signs of aging yet!


I am such a sweet and loving girl. And I am very devoted to my people. I am looking for a loving person or family who understands my breed a bit (we have a bit of an independent streak), is around a decent amount, would enjoy teaching me things, likes to do active things outside with me, and understands that since I chase wildlife, I need to either be in a fenced yard or on leash at all times.

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca, Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed.