Quick Facts:

  • Breed: “All American lab collie with a little pittie in there” mix!
  • Gender: Male
  • Age: 2 years old
  • Size: 60 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes, I love to play!
    • Cats? Yes
    • Kids? Yes, I love kids!

Hello! My name is Cosmo and I am a huge cuddle bug!

***Cosmo is a Rainbow of Hope Animal Rescue dog. If you are interested in either fostering or adopting him, please contact ROHAR via email at ( and they can send you an adoption or foster application!***


My family has had a tough time financially and has tried very hard to keep me but cannot find housing that will allow me to live with them because I’m too big. I am two years old. Once I was rehomed and I ended up locked in a crate that was too small for me for too much time. Fortunately, my dad was able to get me back. But my dad was not able to locate an apartment that would take a dog my size, so now my parents have asked Rainbow of Hope Animal Rescue to try to help me find a permanent loving home.


I have been trained from a very young age to put pressure on my mom’s chest when she gets anxious so I know when you don’t feel good and will do my best to put a smile on your face and make you feel better. I am very loyal and do see it a bit as my role to take care of and protect my family. I have been taught sit, paw/shake, sit pretty (I sit on my back legs with both paws up) hug, pressure, touch and focus! I am incredibly in tuned to my people and am really smart! I just want to please my humans. I live to play and run around and give hugs. I’m a huge sweetheart!

I love to snuggle on the couch or a large chair and believe that I am a lap dog even if I’m bigger than you. Not aware of my bigger size, I also may greet my family coming home with a big hug—so be ready when you come in the door!

I love being outside even when it’s cold and I love the snow especially when you have a snowball fight. I love to chase leaves in the fall.

My favorite thing to do is run around on hikes and explore. Mom and dad couldn’t keep me away from the pond at their old place. But despite my love of exploring, I am still very good on a leash, making me a great companion for extended hikes too!

I do have a little anxiousness from being locked in that crate too much, and I am a little protective of my family, especially in the beginning with men I don’t know. So, I may bark at someone I don’t know at first. But I’m getting a lot better when strange men come around my people. When it comes to children though, they can do no wrong and I will let them even play with my ears!

Despite having a bad experience with too small a crate, I am crate trained, as long as my crate is big enough for me. I am completely housebroken and while I used to get a little car sick on car trips—if you can keep the window open at least a little, I’ll be fine!


I love people after I’m given a little time to get used to them. I have lived most of my life with two other dogs, and two cats and a small human brother (age 3) and I did great with all of them. I love playing with other dogs especially outside. I understand that cats are smaller, but I still want to play with them. At the same time though if the other animals don’t want to play, I will respect their personal space!

Favorite Activities

  • I like hiking and playing fetch even though I’m not that good at it. (I don’t like to bring the ball back!)
  • I love to roll around in the grass and eat it even when my tummy isn’t upset.
  • I love to dance and when I get happy, I do a tap dance.
  • I love to snuggle and give kisses!

Why I am looking for a new home

I am looking for a new home because mom and dad had to move and couldn’t find a place that would take someone my size. My mom and dad are really sad to have to give me up but they are trying to find me a good home. We all know that going someplace new is scary and I may take some time to adjust to a new home and new people, but once I do you will have a best friend for life!


I have permanent scarring on my nose because I was rehomed once to someone who kept me in a very small crate, and I rubbed my nose raw. So sometimes is sounds like I’m snoring even though I am awake, but the vet said it shouldn’t cause any real damage. But I am sensitive to being pet on the nose at first. All of my vaccines will be updated and I will be neutered before being adopted! And I seem to have an allergy to dog food with Lamb in it.


I am a great dog once I get to know you and I’m a really good support dog. I don’t like when my mom and dad get upset or don’t feel good. Once I’ve been around a while I will become your best friend and won’t want to leave your side. I do tend to pick a favorite but I will still love everyone. I get used to kids first then mom then dad.

If you are interested in adopting me, please contact Susan at Rainbow of Hope Animal Rescue (contact info: 607-562-8085 and get an application.

Comments are closed.