Cookie

Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Bishon/Yorkie
  • Gender: Male (not yet neutered)
  • Age: 17 months old
  • Size: 16 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes!
    • Cats? Unknown
    • Kids? Yes! 6+!

No more applications are being taken at this point!

Hello! My name is Cookie, cause I’m little and sweet and kind of look like an Oreo!

History

I was adopted by my current humans from a dog kennel east of Greene NY when I was about 8 weeks old. I have been a very happy, joyful, adorable, and healthy little pupper, but it turns out that my humans don’t have the time each day to take care of me the way I need, so they have come to the hard decision to find me a great new home. They want me to have lots of love and attention and exercise and play, and they are just too busy to give me those things.

Personality

I am super friendly, very playful and love everyone… adults and kids alike! I love running around and playing…my favorite game is for my people to throw my stuffed animal toys around so I can run after and retrieve them! That is super cool, I could do that for hours!

I am smart! I know a few tricks so far, and learn well if you use treats and all positive methods. I can do Sit, Shake/High Five”, and Down. I am working on “Roll-Over”, and “Kisses!” but am not there yet. I would love to learn more tricks with you! My humans are working on me coming back to them when they whistle, and it’s going pretty well since they always have a great treat to reward me when I return! I love to give kisses and lick you to show how much I love you! I have no idea that streets and cars are dangerous, so please always keep me on leash when we are outside!

I am affectionate! And though I have adorable exuberant puppy energy, I am also pretty chill in the house!

I love to be with my people cuddling or napping while they are watching TV, and sitting beside them on a dog bed on the floor when they are working from home. From time to time I love to steal a sock (or two!) and hide under the dinner table or bed while you chase and hunt for me. SO FUN!!! And I love the way human socks smell! But I will trade it back to you if you have a good treat for me! 😊 I like being a little rascally when it’s all part of a fun game.

Sunday mornings are the best! I got to eat some people food for breakfast with my humans, but in general am not a picky eater and eat a mix of kibble and canned wet food. I am a fan of most treats and love to get treats in play and to learn things. I love going for car rides! I love visiting the lake, running around on the sand, retrieving toys thrown into the edge of the water, and playing with kids! On week days, I chill out behind my human’s chair while they work, waiting patiently for walking times and playing times! I’m really good when my people have to leave the house, I’m very well behaved, no crying or howling at all, I just go to my favorite ottoman and nap or play with my stuff animals.

Cohabitation

I love to be around people and kids! I love to follow my humans around everywhere!

I love to be around other dogs!! I have had really nice interactions with some of my neighbors’ older golden retrievers, though I do get scared of big noises, and might be a bit intimidated at first if a big dog barks at me!

I have not been around cats, so cannot speak to how that might go.

Favorite Activities

  • Cuddling!
  • Running in the snow!
  • Running in the sand and getting wet at the lake!
  • Chasing stuffed animals that you throw for me! Chasing balls! Chewing squeaky toys!
  • Going for leashed walks!
  • Going on adventures by car!

Why I am looking for a new home

I’m looking for a new home because I need more attention than my busy people can give me, and they are also looking to relocate overseas. They promise that they will find me a local fun and loving family that will take amazing and joyful care of me!!

Medical

I am a super healthy pup! Up to date on vaccines, on flea/tick medicine, have been dewormed, and have not had any issues at all. I am not yet neutered, so you will need to agree to have me neutered sometime soon so I don’t accidentally get anyone pregnant!

Summary

I’m an adorable fluffy little guy with an adorable joyful big spirit! Everybody say that I’m such a cute and sweet little doggy! I have so much love to give and fun to share, I can’t wait to meet you!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca, Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed.