Adopted: Ebi

Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Cairn Terrier mix?
  • Gender: Female, spayed
  • Age: 7-9 years old
  • Size: 8 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes!
    • Cats? Nope, sorry!
    • Kids? Yes! 8+

Hi! My name is Ebi which rhymes with Debbie and means “shrimp” in Japanese! Haha, I am a little shrimp and as sweet, adorable, and cute as can be!

History and Why I am Looking for a New Home

In 2018 I was transported, along with my two nursing puppies, from a shelter in Kentucky to CDR, after being found as a stray. I was such a good mama to my pups that I gave all of my nutrition to them, leaving me painfully underweight. After my puppies were weaned and adopted, I got adopted to my wonderful current mom, gained back the weight I so sorely needed, and have been very happy with my mom for the past 4 years.

I LOVE to be outside (except in the rain) and LOVE my daily leashed walks. Even though there is a very big fenced-in yard at my home, which I love to hang out in when the weather is decent, I am not truly happy unless I get a good 20+ minute leashed walk through the neighborhoods twice or three times a day. My human mom is 76 years old and has a medical condition that affects her hands badly in colder temperatures. This makes holding a leash in cold weather during our walks really difficult and results in discomfort in her fingers. She’s also become nervous about walking on icy sidewalks. This past winter was really rough for both of us…her being outside way longer than was good for her, and me not getting nearly enough outdoor time despite that. Though it makes us both very sad to admit it, it seems like we would both be happier and healthier in the long run if I could find another wonderful loving family with whom to live. That way, I would get my beloved daily walks, and my wonderful mom could stay inside more during cold weather.


I love humans! Of all sizes! Aaahhh, how I love being petted and scritched and brushed and combed and stroked! And talked to! And cuddled and snuggled on your lap or the couch or the bed! And when you’re not doing any of that, I enjoy just being near to you, where I can see or hear you.

I love to greet visitors and make new friends! I can sometimes be so enthusiastic about it that my mom has to remind me to calm myself! Most of the time when I’m at home, I like to chill out on my bed or on someone’s lap or snuggling next to them! I’m a little afraid of the dark, so at night I really need to be in the same room as you, though I often prefer to sleep next to your bed in my very own laundry basket, snuggled in a cozy quilt!

I love being outside almost as much as I love being with humans (except when it’s raining). And I love to sniff-sniff-sniff at things an awful lot, it is so interesting and fascinating what I learn from those scents. But as distracting as my snuffling in the grass is, if a human stops and wants to meet or pet me, I am always game for that. I’m little and I’m told I’m kinda adorable so that happens a lot!

I’m not much for toys although I squeeze my squeaky toys occasionally. It was really fun running around once when my little neighbors batted balloons around, and I absolutely like to play with my red ball when it has kibble and treats in it! I love to grab a morsel that falls out, toss it into the air, then pounce on it! Fun-fun-fun!

I don’t see the point of learning tricks and fetch doesn’t interest me. I love to laze in the sun in warm weather and if I get too hot, I wander over to some shade, then back to the sunshine when I’ve cooled off a bit. I do NOT enjoy cooling off in water!

I do like chasing squirrels and mourning doves out of the yard. Once I cornered a big possum and barked like crazy…it was on the other side of the fence…that was really fun. Not so much fun when a skunk on the other side of the fence let me know it didn’t like my barking…yuck! I might be too small to be a real watch dog but I’ll let you know if someone or something comes to the front door or the yard!

Routine makes me feel secure, safe, and comfortable. I get really quiet when my routine changes or when my mom drives me somewhere, especially if it’s far away, although I usually like wherever we end up. I don’t get car sick but I also don’t leap for joy when I hear the car keys jingle because I don’t know what is about to happen. I also don’t enjoy being left home alone but I don’t act up in any way. I just get sad and a bit nervous.


I love all humans! And I love children too, even babies, but toddlers and kids who get grabby or try to chase me make me scared and unhappy. For that reason, I’d be happiest in a home with kids 8+.

I’ve made friends with some of the other dogs in my neighborhood although my best doggie pal moved away (so sad for me). Most of the time I just greet other dogs and then go on my way. I’m pretty small so I’m cautious around big dogs, even friendly ones (although my former best pal was quite a bit bigger than I am).

I am not comfortable with cats and don’t want to live with cats please!


I’m in fantastic health! I’m up to date with my shots and my flea collar is good into September. I had a full dental cleaning and one tooth pulled in early 2021 but I had already lost a lot of my teeth when I was a stray. I still have my four canines and some molars so I chew pretty well, but hard chew sticks are not able to be a part of my diet.

I started trotting along on three legs in 2020, and an x-ray showed that I had an old injury from before I came into rescue, in which I had broken my hips! Although the bones healed on their own, arthritis seems to have set in so when I get up to a certain speed I often trot along on three legs, holding up my back left leg. The vets tried all kinds of doggie pain killers and even acupuncture but it didn’t make any difference. I’m fine with it, walking on all fours at slower speeds and even running–fast–on all fours, although long runs don’t appeal to me. I never let my hips stop me from being outside, taking longish walks, and jumping up on the couch or a lap when I’m allowed!

Favorite Activities

  • Going for walks with you! Spending time with you! Cuddling with you!
  • Walking and sniffing outside! Lying in the sun outside! Chasing squirrels!
  • Meeting new human friends!
  • Exploring the neighborhood with you!


I’m really cute, affectionate, snuggly, and sweet. I get attached to humans quickly and would love nothing more than to find a new home with one or more loving, fun, light-hearted humans who could spend lots of time with me and take me on twice daily walks every single day, even in winter (but we can skip it in the rain, haha)!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca, Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. Cayuga Dog Rescue does home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where they don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed.