Adopted: Thunder

Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Husky
  • Gender: Male
  • Age: 1.5 years old
  • Size: 40 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes (young and large)!
    • Cats? Unknown
    • Kids? Yes! 12+

Hello! My name is Thunder (aka Mr. T) and I love people!!

***Thunder is not a CDR dog but please fill out an adoption application and it will be forwarded to his family!***


I am on my third home, no fault of my own. My prior owners didn’t have time or money for me. I’m super gentle taking food from your hand and I don’t bite. My foster mom rescued me from a bad situation. Many days I would go to bed hungry and never get to go outside to play. I would sleep in my own feces and be left alone. Yelled at all the time. Sometimes my owners would hurt me, but now I know what love is with my foster mom and I want a forever mom or dad that will show and give the same amazing love!


I love PEOPLE! Which is amazing, given what I have been through! People make me so excited and kids…I am so thrilled that I howl in excitement. I want to be the center of attention and be with my person! I don’t care where you go, I want to go with you! I love riding in the car! Going on long walks or runs! Goofing around the house with a good game of fetch! And of course I like to sleep inside near my people!

I am so silly. I often can’t decide what toy to play with so I play with them all! One day I missed my foster mom while she was at work so I dragged my Large dog bed through the doggie door. She found me comfortably sleeping on the bed in the driveway awaiting her return. I also have a silly howl to greet you all the time, even if I already saw you today!

I’m amazingly athletic! If you like to run, you will so want to run with me! Want to walk? I can do that too! I need to learn how to behave on the leash but I will get it eventually because I’m smart. I’ve learned how to sit, stay, and lay down! A strong pup like me would do great with a no-pull Freedom harness or a Sensation harness most likely!

I need to be in the open, meaning, I really don’t like to be crated or kenneled, it makes me very upset and uncomfortable, but that’s ok because I’m housebroken and don’t chew up things in the house. I’m also not skittish…I don’t mind loud noises (trucks, backhoes, vacuums), none of those things bothers me one bit.


I love kids and people! I am gentle with my mouth but sometimes can’t control my excitement and jump on people. I tend to really like everyone but not everyone appreciates my exuberance, enthusiasm, and energy! My energy level is high until I get good exercise, but then it’s just fine. I don’t mean to knock over small people, but since I am young and so exuberant, it’s likely that I will, and for that reason, we think a home with kids 12 and older is safest and best for everyone.

I love other dogs and want to play with them non-stop! We Huskies all have a very “rough-n-tumble” play style—it’s very athletic and relentless and involves a lot of wrestling and play neck-gnawing. Dogs who have this same play style would be a fantastic match for me, which is why I get along best with young, large, energetic dogs. Dogs who do not have this play style will definitely NOT like being around me, as I seem very dense about their cues that they are not enjoying my play style or that they want me to stop playing. I’m currently being fostered with a 2 year-old Rottie and a 9 year-old Rottie. I get along much better with the 2 year old for this reason!

No idea how I would be with cats.

Favorite Activities

  • Belly rubs!
  • Playing outside in a fenced yard with squeaky toys!
  • Playing inside with squeaky toys!
  • Window watching!
  • Going for walks, runs, car rides, and any adventure with you!


I am up to date on vaccines and scheduled to be neutered in the next few weeks. I am rockstar healthy!


If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca, Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers. The rescue will forward it to my current family, who will a) be in touch with you and b) make all decisions about my placement!

Comments are closed.