Adopted: Pluto

Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Hound mix
  • Gender: Male, neutered
  • Age: 9 ½ months old
  • Size: 55 pounds (not quite finished growing!)
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes!
    • Cats? Yes!
    • Kids? Yes 9+

Hello! My name is Pluto and I am the most enthusiastic and playful fellow you’ll ever meet!

***Pluto is not a CDR dog and has not been evaluated by CDR. This is a courtesy posting for his family who will make all decisions about heis adoptive placement.***


I came from Alabama in April of 2021 through a rescue operation in upstate NY. The rescuers said I was a Cocker Spaniel mix, but my new family thinks I am a sweet ol’ Hound dog! I moved in with my family when I was 8 weeks old… I was tiny and adorable! I adjusted very well to life in Ithaca and have had a happy puppyhood!!


I love to play outside! I love running and bounding across the yard, chasing balls, searching for squirrels and chipmunks, and splashing in the pond. I would hike all day long if my people would let me! My favorite indoor activity is chewing!  Cardboard boxes with treats in them, stuffed animals from the dollar store, bones, or a Kong filled with peanut butter are some of my favorites. I need my people to tell me what I’m allowed to chew, or I might just go for a nice shoe or a hat.

I love my people! I’m such a sweet boy, I really want good, happy energy between me and all of my people. Sometimes I lay my head on your lap and give you googly eyes, but at my young age, I would enjoy even more if we were running or playing in the yard rather than sitting around and cuddling!  Maybe when I am a much older dog I will be your TV buddy, but until then…let’s play! I love to stick my nose in whatever my people are doing and I like to follow them around and participate in everything. I just love being with people!

I am a very smart puppy! I have learned many human words and enjoy doing things to earn a treat (hot dog or cheese bits are the best!). I can sit, lie down, wait, come, shake, and stay on command. I’m doing pretty well learning drop it and leave it. I’ve learned how to walk on a leash, but I still pull because I’m so excited to sniff everything. When walking on the leash, I can stop and stay on command when a car goes by or we pass other walkers. I am learning to be gentle with my mouth. But I still need to practice not jumping on people. I have learned how to respect the boundaries of a wireless invisible fence, so I hope to have a hard regular fence or a wireless invisible one at my new home too!

I am housetrained, but my people do need to remember to take me out often. I have gotten used to my routine of waking at 7am and going straight outside, then I go out a few times during the day and then last out at 10 pm.  When I’m tired I love to cuddle up with someone. But I’m also happy to sleep alone in my crate.


I love everyone! It’s so fun to meet new people or see old friends!!

One of my best friends is our cat! He warns me to keep away with his claws, but sometimes I can’t resist chasing him. Other times he lets me lick his face.

I love other dogs even more! I have been to the dog park and love running free with my buddies. I love to roughhouse and jump on other dogs, but I respect them when they put me in my place.

I’ve lived with a fun teenager, and have met younger kids, but I do like to jump on them and that can be overwhelming, so best if I go to a home in which kids are 9 or older.  I would hate to accidentally scare a young kid with my jumping enthusiasm.

Favorite Activities

I love;

  • going for walks!
  • playing with other dogs!
  • chasing balls!
  • chewing things!
  • earning treats by practicing my commands!
  • sniffing around the yard!
  • meeting new people!

Why I am looking for a new home

I am looking for a new home because my family can’t keep up with my higher energy needs. They work a lot (too much, if you ask me), and they are people who like to be calm and relaxed on their time off. I’d much rather play! They didn’t know how enthusiastic I would be and how much attention I would need. And one family member is unable to walk me because of health issues.


I don’t have any medical issues. I am up to date on all my vaccines and take flea/tick prevention meds and heartworm pills monthly. I was neutered this fall.


I am a great, happy dog who is looking for a family who shares my enthusiastic view on life. My ideal person or people would be ones who love to run, hike, or take long walks and can keep up with my high energy needs. I’d love to live with a family who will continue my training, so I can become the best dog I can be.

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed.