Earl

Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Great Pyrenees/Collie mix
  • Gender: Male, neutered
  • Age: 10 months old
  • Size: 50 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes!!
    • Cats? Yes!!
    • Kids? Yes 4+!

Earl is staying with his family!

NOT TAKING FURTHER APPLICATIONS AT THIS TIME!

Hello! My name is Earl and I am a joyful, gentle and loving Great Pyrenees mix just waiting to find my forever home.
***Earl is not a CDR dog and has not been evaluated by CDR. This is a courtesy posting for his family who will make all decisions about his adoptive placement.***

History

I was adopted into my family in March 2021 from a rescue in Vermont. I was born in the south and my littermates and I were all sent up to the northeast following an ice storm that caused my mother’s owner to put us up for adoption. I have been living with my family since March in Ithaca.

Personality

I am extremely affectionate!! I love to snuggle with humans small and large!! When sitting around the house, I might gently approach you and then just lean into you and ask for affection. I love to have my ears massaged and I groan with pleasure when you’re doing it just right. I am very comfortable being touched anywhere on my body.

When I first greet you, I sometimes squeal with excitement!! I know I’m not supposed to jump on you, but sometimes I just get so excited, I can’t help it! I do notice your energy though, so if you are calm in this situation, and help me by offering me a yummy treat to sit down, it helps a lot. I’ll get there, I’m still a pupster!

I love to lay my head on your lap, give kisses, and snuggle next to you on the floor. I am not allowed on furniture and understand that is only for people. I learn quickly and will do anything for food- so even just a little bit of time training with yummy treats goes a long way. I learn commands quite quickly (as long as you have treats for rewards!), and thus far know “Sit,” “Stay”, and “Come”. Despite being a puppy I’m getting more independent and am getting better at sharing your attention. Though I love affection and attention, I can also just hang out on my own for periods of time, chewing on a bone or sleeping, when you are busy or working. With good exercise (in the fenced yard or on a good walk), I am very content to lie down and sleep or rest when the family is doing the same. I love to chew and have a variety of toys I like to play with. As I’m still curious and learning, if you accidently leave a shoe or something like that around, or food on the counter, I will help myself. Typical puppy stuff.

I love to spend time outside! When outside in the fenced yard, I usually find a nice stick to chew on! I also love to chase and retrieve balls and other things when you throw them for me, but am not so good yet at letting the ball go when I bring it back! I’m smart too! I can sit and stay on command (as long as I’m not tempted by outdoor critters). I also come to my name (usually) and definitely respond best when you use happy puppy/baby talk as it helps me know that you are happy with me and there might be treats involved! Do know though that I love to chase squirrels and birds and can’t even hear you calling me when I am focused on them, so you really need to always keep me on a leash when outside unless I’m in a securely fenced-in area.

I am house trained and very used to the routine of getting up in the morning, going out to pee, eating breakfast, then going out to poop. I enjoy a morning walk and 2-3 additional short walks throughout the day (15 minutes). But if you are able, I especially love a longer walk or hike! Or a long game of fetch! I will tell you I need to go out by giving a small whimper and standing by the door.

Cohabitation

I love people of all ages, but children are my favorite! I currently live with a 4-year-old and a 7-year-old and I really like playing and romping around in the fenced yard with them! Sometimes I get too excited and jump on them but I’m learning every day and am working on this. I need adults or older teens to walk me on the leash as I get overexcited if I see a squirrel and try to chase them up trees or into the road (dangerous!).

I love other dogs and am very curious about them. I tend to be submissive with the dogs I meet as I’m still just a puppy but I tend to get along really well with most of the dogs I meet. I learn a lot every time I meet a new dog.

I have met a couple of cats and am curious and a little confused by them.

.

Favorite Activities

  • I love gentle and fun human contact of all kinds including:
    ◦ Cuddling
    ◦ Being petted
    ◦ Leaning up against humans when we’re just sitting around
    ◦ Looking into the eyes of the humans- I love to tell them how much I love them
    ◦ I love taking walks – especially when the whole family comes with me. Going on walks with just one human is fun too.
  •  When humans are not free to be with me I also love:
    ◦ Chewing on my toys
    ◦ Chasing balls
    ◦ I like exploring the water (so far I’ve only waded into the water but I am intrigued)

Why I am looking for a new home

My humans are wonderful and I love them. However, they have full-time jobs plus two small kids, limited yard space, and I don’t get as much attention and exercise as I need. Plus one of my humans is allergic to me which is a real bummer.

I’m looking for a home that can devote more time to giving me the love I deserve. I’m a sweet, gentle, and intelligent pup who will make everyone in my forever home very happy.

Medical

In July 2021 I was getting out of the car and landed the wrong way and broke a growth plate in my rear right leg. I had surgery at Cornell and for two months I wasn’t allowed to go on walks or up any stairs! Luckily, I am completely healed and back to my usual self again.

I was neutered in September 2021. I’m up to date on all vaccines and preventative medicines.

Summary

I am a special puppy!! I am happy, eager to please, and a soft cuddly friend. There isn’t an aggressive bone in my body- I even let my small humans pull my tail. The things I put up with! I love children and am a quick learner. I can’t wait to find a home that can give me more affection and attention.

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed.