Otis

Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Shepard/Husky mix
  • Gender: Male
  • Age: 7 years old
  • Size: 75 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes! (But I have little patience with puppies)
    • Cats? Sorry, no!
    • Kids? 6+ years

Hello! My name is Otis and I am a devoted companion and a loveable goofball!

History

I am a rescue pup from the Tompkins County SPCA. I was adopted by my current family when I was 10 weeks old.. I’ve been in the same loving home since then.

Personality

I love ALL people!!!! I am super friendly and fun and cheerful and optimistic! I wag my tail, and often my whole body, and smile a huge goofy (and very toothy!) smile when I meet you. If you didn’t know me, you might think I’m baring my teeth at you, but nothing could be further from the truth…I’m grinning with delight!! I’ve never met a person I don’t like, but that is also because all the people that my family know are friendly, nice people!

I have great manners. Even though I’m super excited that you have come to visit, I don’t jump up on you. I do lean into you for pets and cuddles though, which everyone seems to really enjoy. My current family plays a game where they sing-howl at me, and I join right in, sing-howling back! I like getting scratched behind the ears, but it hurts if you tug or pull on my ears, even really gently. When I was a tiny pup I had a severe case of ear mites which is all cleared up, but has left me forevermore with tender ears. If you accidentally tug my ear, I will yelp in pain.

I love walking in the woods, going on hikes, and taking leashed walks. It’s really my happy place, so I’m looking for a home with people who like to walk trails when they can. I tend to stay close to my people when hiking off-leash, but because I have a strong prey drive, I will absolutely take off after (and sometimes catch) woodchucks or squirrels or other small prey animals. So, it’s probably safest to keep me on leash.

After a good walk, I love to curl up on the carpet close to my people while they’re relaxing in the evening. Belly rubs are my absolute favorite!! In the morning I wag my tail and roll over on my back so my people know it’s “time for the cuddles please!!!” I don’t jump on the couch unless invited but if you say it’s ok, I love to cuddle up next to you. My favorite toy is a stuffed pet grouse, and my favorite treats are Greenies and peanut butter!!

I like to sleep on my own bed or on the cool floor on hot days. In the backyard at my current home, my favorite spot is underneath the hammock. I’m a tiny bit skittish at times (especially when I don’t get good daily exercise), and I might startle and jump up quickly if I hear a loud unexpected noise or see some fast unexpected movement.  I don’t bark much in the comfort of my home unless I hear or see something really unexpected, and then will bark to let you know.

I get along great with female dogs and submissive males but do not get along with other dominant male dogs. I have tons of doggy friends, but they are pretty much all female and submissive. If another male thinks he is top dog, we might “get into it” to establish dominance. I’ve done well at 2 different doggy daycares, with staff who are experienced and make sure that interactions go well, but I should never go to a dog park, where meetings are unstructured and unsupervised by professionals. I am also sorry to say that I don’t have a lot of patience for puppies! Their energy and lack of social skills just annoys me, and I will growl at them to let them know to steer clear.

I’m a good leashed walker if you use my front-clip harness, it keeps me from pulling and works quite well. I’m funny about walking by other dogs…sometimes I pay them no mind at all, other times I am happy-excited and bark and want to meet them, and still other times I don’t like or trust them and I growl at them. When I was young I was bitten very badly by a Pitbull while at doggy daycare, and I had to get a bunch of staples in my stomach. This has made me distrustful of and very nervous around Pitbulls, not surprisingly.

I don’t fetch, but recently have started to like to chase a ball in the yard a little bit! I would do well either with a fenced in yard, a country home with land to roam, or some active people that want to run and play with me every day. I’ve gone on camping trips with my people, and that was a total blast! I am very food motivated, so am a fabulous dog to work with on tricks and such! I would also probably love to try agility if you want to do that with me!

Cohabitation

I am just amazing with people, and I like older kids too! I would probably be a good fit for a family with kids over six.

I cannot live with cats. I see no distinction between cats and squirrels and woodchucks.

I would be fine as your only dog but would also be great sharing a home with a non-alpha female dog. I’ve spent a ton of time staying at my “grandparent’s” house with their labradoodle Grace, who has been like a sibling to me, so I know I can get along great in the house with the right dog.

Favorite Activities

  • Hiking is my number one!
  • Belly rubs is also my number one!
  • Lounging in a shady spot or on my dog bed!
  • Going on adventures with you!
  • Chomping treats, haha!!
  • Playdates with my dog friends!

Why I am looking for a new home

I need to find a new place to live because my mom and dad recently had a baby. At first, the new baby didn’t bother me much, but now she’s making me nervous. I have shown no aggression whatsoever toward her, but as she moves around more, I get more nervous. That, coupled with the fact that my dad is traveling for work 50% of the time and my mom can’t get me the exercise that she used to get me pre-baby, is all upping my stress level and is taking a toll on my happiness. Once the baby starts crawling and walking, and does all the normal toddler things like grabbing and tugging and chasing and falling on top of. it’s going to be awful for me. I will be very sad to leave my family, but I will feel much happier and more relaxed in a home without babies or toddlers.

Medical

I am in great health and up to date on all vaccinations! I’ve almost never needed to go to the vet in my life, unless it’s time for an annual check-up!

Summary

I am a lovable, active, goofy boy, but I also know how to relax. I would do well in the country, in a house with a fenced in yard, or with people who love to walk in the woods. I can be a bit alpha when I meet other “tough guy” pups, and have had spats with other dogs who also think they are the head honcho, so my owner will have to be mindful of how to introduce me to other dogs so we have a successful meet. I do great with positive reinforcement and praise, and I have a lot of training potential. I need to work on my leash manners. I’m looking for a family that is as dedicated to me as I will be to them. I just celebrated my seventh birthday this summer, and I’ve got so much love to give and life to live!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers. The rescue will forward it to my current mom, who will a) be in touch with you and b) make all decisions about my placement!

Comments are closed.