Adopted: Teddy

Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Pomeranian (aka fuzzy teddy bear)
  • Gender: Male, neutered
  • Age: 10? years old
  • Size: 11 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes!
    • Cats? Yes!
    • Kids? Yes 11+

Hello. My name is Teddy and I’m an adorable and loyal Pomeranian!

***Teddy is not a CDR dog and has not been evaluated by CDR. This is a courtesy posting for his momma who will make all decisions about his adoptive placement. ***


I was adopted by my current family from the Cortland County SPCA in May 2020. The shelter had very little information about where I came from or why I was there so I don’t know anything about my life before then.


I am a funny, quirky, adorable, friendly boy! Like most Pomeranians, I am little, cute, fuzzy and friendly, and sometimes quite vocal (barky-barky)!

I love my people, you can tell that I get very attached to them as you will rarely find me in another room by myself– I’m usually right wherever you are, just hanging out, watching what you’re doing, enjoying spending time near you. Sometimes when you are petting me, if you stop, I put my little fuzzy paw on top of your hand to let you know that some more petting would be wonderful. I am not much of a snuggler, and I don’t like being on your lap, but I really love sitting next to you on the couch and sleeping alongside you or at the foot of your bed.
And I am a good bed sleeper! I curl up near your head or at your feet and I will sleep as long in the morning as you like. I never wake you up early to go out, I’m your bed buddy!

No one will ever sneak into your house undetected because I bark-bark-bark at all visitors (even if I know them)! If they pet and talk to me, I calm down more quickly, but otherwise, I might bark for several minutes upon their arrival. On just a few occasions, when a certain person really made me nervous and walked real close to me right away, I nipped at their ankles, but I’m so small, I didn’t hurt them at all. If my mom notices that I seem nervous, she’ll talk to and pet me and ask the guest not to get real close to me right away and that helps a lot. I don’t like sudden moves or people getting right in my face unless I know them well, but if folks are calm toward me, I warm up to them quickly. Funny thing… I have noticed that “hello” usually marks the arrival of a visitor, so when my mom says “hello” when answering the phone, I can also get to barking! Hahaha, maybe you should use “Bonjour!” instead, when you answer the phone!

I don’t like too much exercise…a few minutes of walking, a few times a day, is good for me! I would probably do an around-the-block just fine, but if you take me longer, I will just lay down and refuse to continue and you will have to carry me home. 😊 If you toss me a toy or a stick I will go get it a few times and sometimes I’ll even bring it back to you, but that’s about all the activity I need! I do like napping…do you too?

As far as commands go, I’m very good and come and sit. With some food motivation training I could probably learn to bark at people less. I love snacks but don’t give me too many, I gain weight easily. I cannot jump on or off of the furniture–you need to pick me up and gently place me down again–and because of my bad knees, while I can go up the stairs, coming down is not good for me. I’m okay on the few steps off my back porch, but when I’m in the house I always get carried down, sometimes on top of the laundry basket for a little excitement!


Since being adopted I’ve mostly just been with my owner. She does have friends and relatives that come over to visit and recently her adult daughter moved back home and I really like her too. I stay with the next door neighbors for days at a time when my owner goes on vacation. They have 2 cats and we are friends. When I’m around other dogs I am a little excited at first, but then I relax and just go about my business not really paying too much attention to them. I think I would enjoy having another dog and/or cat to live with.

Favorite Activities

  • Sitting next to you on the couch or laying next to you in bed!
  • Getting your attention!
  • Eating!
  • Napping!
  • Barking!
  • Fetching my toy!

Why I am looking for a new home

My owner owns a busy Inn and was told by the SPCA folks where she adopted me that I would make a great Inn doggy. Turned out not to be the case. Since I love barking at anyone coming to the house, all Inn guests get a lengthy barky greeting from me, which many don’t like. Consequently, I have to be at home in my crate and this makes me very unhappy. I am not a dog that enjoys much alone time, at least not as the only pet in the home. It stresses me out. Additionally, my current owner’s daughter just moved back home and she is having a baby– I’m not the kind of dog that would enjoy life with a crying baby and the constant activity that comes with one—their unpredictability and sudden moves would stress me out. I really want peace and quiet in my home and to live with someone who can give me all the attention my cuteness and my loyal heart deserve.


In general, I am in very good health and have received excellent vet care in the past year since my mom adopted me. I currently have a few minor issues that are being managed: 1) I’ve had a hacking/coughing “small dog problem” for a while–sometimes it’s persistent and sometimes it’s not—and the vet isn’t sure what is causing it. We’ve tried various medications (including antibiotics), none of which solved things, so currently I take a half-pill of hydrocodone twice a day which seems to help, and 2) I have a little arthritis in my back and my back knees don’t work so great in the way that a lot of little dogs’ back knees don’t work so great (I forget what the condition is called, my vet knows though!). If you’re holding me or I want to get off the couch, you have to set me down gently, front feet first. This problem isn’t very obvious. If you saw me walking around you wouldn’t notice anything different about me. It would be great for me to be on older doggy supplements like Dasaquin and fish oil.


My current momma is going to miss me a lot, but her lifestyle (plus a baby on the way) and my needs just aren’t a good match. She promises me that she will find me a new home with people who aren’t gone too much and that maybe even has a dog or cat friend in the home! Folks who either don’t mind my excited barking at guests, or who are game to use lots of treat training to help me welcome guests to the home a bit more calmly.

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed.