Penny


Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Treeing Walker Coonhound mix
  • Gender: Female, spayed
  • Age: 2 years old
  • Size: 55 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes!
    • Cats? Nope, sorry!
    • Kids? Yes,10+ years!

Hi, I’m Penny, and I have fallen madly in love with every human and dog I have ever met!

History

I was found in Tennessee as a stray and brought to a shelter in Ithaca. I was adopted by my current mom in February 2021. I have loved learning how to be an indoor dog here! I am so happy to be in a great home, am working well on my potty training and my manners, and I am over the moon to be getting to go on hikes and fun trips to the dog park!

Personality

I love people! I love dogs! I get super excited to meet them, so I need a wonderful new adopter who will keep working with me so I get better and better at calming down my exuberance in those situations.

I love being outdoors, and I get excited when I see birds and squirrels! When my mom and I go on hikes, my nose is either on the ground or up in the air, savoring every smell. And like most younger dogs, I like to roll in stinky things, which makes my mom laugh very hard, because my face is just so happy. The dog park is my favorite place on earth! My exuberant play style isn’t a fit for every dog I meet, but I always manage to find a doggy friend who has my style of play-chasing and play-wrestling.

I’m equal parts lazy and energetic. After an activity, I often fall asleep on my bed or in my crate for up to three hours. Sometimes I get so relaxed that I fall asleep on my back with my legs pointing all kinds of strange directions, haha! And while I love to hike, I can’t really hike for more than about two hours. After that I need a nap! My typical day includes one 30-minute neighborhood walk and one longer hike or trip to the dog park (45-60 minutes). This is great for me! Funnily enough, when it’s time to get out of bed in the morning, I’m the last one up. I looooooove lazy mornings!

When I’m in my crate during the day, I do best if I’m in a quiet, out-of-the-way part of the house. Seeing and hearing people makes me wish I was in on the action. I bet I could get used to it with more practice. I like that my bedtime crate is near my mom’s bed, though.

When I’m loose in some part of the house, I like to chill on my bed with a bone, bully stick or frozen Kong toy. When I get an especially delicious chew, I get so excited that I will toss it up in the air and then chase it. My mom thinks this is hilarious! Sometimes I fall asleep sitting upright on the couch like I’m a human! I also really like snuggling in bed in the mornings, even though I’m happy to sleep through the night in my crate. When mom lets me in bed in the morning, I like to give her a quick kiss and then curl up in a ball next to her, sometimes on top of her legs or feet!

When I greet people, I like to lean on them and make sure they know I’m there. Then I flop on my back and wiggle while I (hopefully!) get some good belly rubs. I give great kisses when I first say hello, but I don’t slobber on you or make it last forever! A few quick licks are more my style. In addition to belly rubs, I especially love neck and butt scratches! When I get them, I lean in and sometimes do a big strrrrreeeetchhhh. I try to get up into people’s laps as often as possible… laps are the best…which is kind of silly since I am 55 pounds!

I’m still learning what it takes to be a well-mannered indoor dog. Sometimes I put my feet on the counter to see what’s up there. I’m so curious, I want to understand how all of this stuff works! There are also lots of things in houses that I would like to put in my mouth, including socks, trash, and many other items! I like shredding cardboard boxes and paper egg cartons! My mom gives me these as toys and it’s the best (and she says it’s quite economical!).

My mom says I am incredibly calm about some things that many dogs find stressful. Having my nails trimmed is fine, maybe because she takes it slow, gives me lots of treats along the way, and never forces me to do things when I tell her they make me uncomfortable. I also am totally fine if people come near me when I have a bone, food, or even my favorite toy!

Learning new things is so fun, partly because I just love learning, and partly because my mom gives me lots of treats when I get it right! I know how to sit, lie down, make eye contact, go to my bed, and touch my nose to an open palm. I’m smart! 😊 I also have some silly tricks like spinning in a circle and weaving between someone’s legs. I’m working on learning my name and coming when called in more distracting environments. I’ll need more work on most of these things to be able to do them anywhere and everywhere. I walk very nicely on leash unless I see a person, dog, bird, squirrel, or other thrilling distraction!

I am a bit clumsy, and sometimes forget where my body is or what size it is. Because of that, I might accidentally knock over smaller kids or people with balance issues, even though I’m just trying to be friendly and get as close to them as I can! My mom says I am the strongest dog she has ever met, and that my next owner should be sure-footed and strong too! Using a Sensation harness with me is a very, very good idea!

Sometimes when I don’t get what I want, when I’m tired or have been overstimulated, or if there’s a big change in my routine, I act like an overtired toddler. I might start chewing and pulling on my leash, jumping on my human, or even bark-yelling. My mom has been working on something she calls “impulse control” and “frustration tolerance” with me. That means I am developing an ability to wait to get the things I want, and though it’s a harder trick to learn, I am working on it really diligently. I definitely want my next person or family to keep working on this with me…it’s no fun to be frustrated, and I am otherwise so eager to please!!

Cohabitation

I am amazing with adults.

I love kids, but because I am clumsy, exuberant, and strong, I should not live with small children or anyone who is frail or has balance issues.

I love dogs! Especially friendly, rough-and-tumble players like me! I might be too much for smaller dogs, or older dogs who prefer a gentler energy around them.

I cannot live with cats! I just want to chase them. All the time. Not possible!

Because I think birds and squirrels are wonderful to chase, I also probably can’t be counted on to leave chickens or other small outdoor or indoor animals alone.

Favorite activities

  • Playing with other dogs!
  • Meeting new people!
  • Playing tug of war!
  • Chewing delicious things like bones, bully sticks, and frozen treats!
  • Hiking (on leash)!
  • Chasing birds and squirrels (I would love a fenced yard where I could do more of this)!
  • Sleeping in/morning cuddles!
  • Learning tricks!

Why I am looking for a new home

Despite our best efforts, I can’t seem to stop bothering the cats I live with. I just want to be friends, but I’m not good at taking “no” (or “hiss” or “swat”) for an answer. I need to live in a home with no cats or other small animals I might accidentally hurt, please!!

Medical

I am in excellent health! I occasionally need to have my anal glands expressed, but otherwise, I am in tip-top shape. I am up to date on all my shots, and have been getting Simparica flea, tick and heartworm preventive every month. When they tested me at the shelter in February 2021, I was heartworm negative.

Summary

I am an exuberant lover of life and an all-star cuddler with a chill, sweet side you’ll surely fall in love with!! I would love to find a home with lots of space for me to safely run and explore, preferably with another dog, but definitely NO CATS.

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed.