Adopted: Megan

Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Schipperke mix
  • Gender: Female
  • Age: 12 years young
  • Size: 20 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes!
    • Cats? Yes!
    • Kids? Yes! 6+

Hi! My name is Megan, and I am sweet, easygoing, and insanely adorable!


I was surrendered to a high-kill shelter in Kentucky along with another senior dog– my people said they couldn’t take care of us anymore. He was named Charlie, and I was named Manson, which seemed to make everyone around us sad. We went to different rescues, so we’re both safe, but it was very sad to be given away and also to lose my best buddy. I was renamed Megan, which I think is lovely, and as I know my new name now very well, I want to keep it please!


I’m an incredibly sweet girl—friendly, easygoing, relaxed, and adorable. I have some good energy and feistiness too, which I am told is hilarious and wonderful. I am a terrific mix of affectionate/snuggly and independent. I like to snuggle next to you on the couch in the evenings when we watch TV together, and very much enjoy sleeping in bed with you, preferably laying on a pillow next to your head, but am not needy in the least and spend time doing my own thing sometimes during the day!

I like to be in the same room as my foster mom, sitting on something very soft, like one of her awesome upholstered chairs, or the couch (or a dog bed, but honestly, they are second choice)! I especially love to sit on a soft thing and look out the window, and have been known to drag a chair closer to the window to get a better view spot or even get up onto a dining room table to be at window height! Haha, that’s the feisty thing I mentioned! I enjoy your attention, but am also content just watching things out of the window. I don’t need you to be fussing over me all the time!

The other feisty thing I do regularly is chase squirrels and chipmunks, oh my gosh, so fun! Luckily there is a fenced yard here, so I stay safe. I would not be trustworthy off-leash in a yard that was not fenced!

I really enjoy my daily leashed walks! I love to explore, sniff, look around, and see if there are any chipmunks or squirrels hiding about. Other than chasing squirrels in the yard, I don’t exercise myself out there at all. Mostly when I go out into the yard, I do my business and then lay down and watch things. So to get my daily exercise, I really need the leashed walks!

I seem to like every person that I meet, though I bark at strangers when they initially come in the house. I am doing my job at protecting my people and my home! I calm down pretty easily after I see that they are friendly, and then I like to sit and observe them from a few feet away for the visit. Once we know each other better, I am more snuggly with them.

I like food but am not crazy about it at all. I eat my meals just fine, but refuse treats! How crazy is that? My foster mom has tried many treats, even cheese (no thank you!) and less healthy things that dogs usually love (like Snausages) and I have no interest. There might be some treat out there that I like, but so far we haven’t found it.

I don’t bark too much, but I WILL bark at squirrels and chipmunks and deer (they deserve it!) and at you if I want you to do something for me (like take me out for a walk or pay more attention to me)! The rescue folks say this is “good communication” and that it’s wonderful that I can let them know when there is something I want or need.


Right now, I am the only pet in my foster home, and it’s just me and my terrific foster mom. This is absolutely ok in that I don’t have anxiety about it, but it is a little bit lonely for me. The rescue folks know that I had at least 1 dog companion in my former KY situation, and they think I would feel happier if this was the case now too. My foster mom also thinks that her quiet lifestyle is a bit boring for me, and that I would prefer a situation with some more activity and some more people in the home!

I am great with other dogs (friendly, calm) and am fine with cats. I was in a temporary home with both dogs and cats for a week before transporting up to Cayuga Dog Rescue, and all was fine.
I seem to like both men and women and though I haven’t been around children since coming to NY, I am so calm and mellow that the rescue folks think I would be fine around kids who are old enough to be gentle with me and not fall on me.

Favorite Activities

  • Sitting on soft couches and chairs and looking out of the window!
  • Sleeping in bed with you!
  • Hanging out with my people!
  • Chasing squirrels and chipmunks in a fenced yard!
  • My daily leashed walks!
  • Meeting new people and getting attention!


I saw our great local vet, had full bloodwork panels, and was told that I am in perfectly good health for my age! I am on heartworm preventive, have a Seresto collar, am the perfect weight, and though I have a little bit of tartar on my teeth, they say I do not need a dental. 😊


I am a very sweet, very easygoing, very funny and adorable senior lady. I’m looking for a home with at least 1 other friendly dog in it, a fenced yard, and a home that is not too quiet and calm. I like some activity! 😊

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed.