Adopted: Rigby

Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Great Pyrenees mix
  • Gender: Male, neutered
  • Age: 15 months
  • Size: 75 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Not so great!
    • Cats? Unknown!
    • Kids? Yes! 8+

*We are not taking application at the moment, check back in a couple of weeks.*

Hi there! My name is Rigby and I am the most affectionate, lovey boy you’ll ever meet!


I have been with my current family since I was 4 months old and came as a rescue from a high kill shelter down south. I am SOOO happy that someone scooped me up and gave me a chance. Sadly, my big sister dog and I I have not been getting along so I am on the search for my new forever person or family. I can’t wait to find some new humans to love on, snuggle with and make the happiest people ever!


I am one of the sweetest boy’s you will ever meet! I love love love to snuggle, and give kisses and I smile at everyone who is excited to see me! Wanna Netflix & Chill? My favorite! Wanna go for a hike? Yes yes yes! Did someone say car ride? SHOTGUN! Some of my favorite things to do are: going for car rides, taking walks, going for hikes, playing with my yummy stuffed Kong and going to Lowe’s or Tractor Supply (hahaha, I’m a dude)! I also love playing fetch and tug of war, and love playing with any toy that you give me!

I do some silly things! I utter an adorable “howl/yowl!” whenever I stretch, which I am told is “super cute” (haha, not just cute, but super cute)! I also sit in very funny positions sometimes, it’s impossible to imagine I am comfortable, yet I seem to be. And I love to play in the snow ! I love to try to catch snowballs (the operative word being “try”)!

When you first return home, or someone comes over to visit, I can get very excited and jump around like a silly happy boy, but give me just two minutes and I will be as cool as a cucumber and ready to chill. Not bad for a pup of my age! I am always ready to snuggle on the couch, it’s one of my all-time favorite past-times–sometimes you’ll even catch me watching the tv… who knew golf was so fun to watch? And though I will deny this if you ever tell another dog…I also like to be held in your lap like I am a little (widdle) baby puppy. So sweet. I am the most snuggly boy around and am always looking to help keep everyone nice and warm! I should mention, that in keeping with my young age, I occasionally get the zoomies, surprisingly it happens when I am quite sleepy! When I get the zoomies, I love to bounce around and run around like a wild boy but once I am finished, man am I tired and ready to get back to snuggling!

I’m very chill about lots of things that other dogs are often fussy about. I don’t mind a bath, I don’t mind you clipping my nails, I am relaxed in the car (I love to hang my head out of the window and try to catch the air), and when I go to stores like Lowe’s, I’m happy if people want to say hi to me, but happy just watching what’s going on too.

My mom and dad took me to training and I learned SOOOO much and got to show off how smart I am! I know how to sit, stay, lay down, and give celebratory high fives! I would love an owner that would take the time to invest in my awesome skills and maybe even help me learn some new ones too!

With all this awesomeness comes a few challenges. I don’t get along with other dogs in the same home as me and started some fights with my sister a few times. I also can’t go to the dog park or hang out with other dogs but the good news is that when you have me out for leashed walks, I am fine seeing other dogs from a distance. I don’t freak out like some dogs do…as long as you don’t take me too close to them, I’m fine.

Some Important Things to Know

  • I am house trained, crate trained and obedience trained! Say “crate” and I’ll run right in with no problems!
  • I must be the only pet in your home. I get overwhelmed and nervous around other dogs and can get upset and react by barking, growling, putting my hair up and even biting. But don’t fear, I try really hard to be on my best behavior when I go on my walks.
  • I would love to have a fenced in yard, but if not I would like to go for a daily walk or a couple of one/two mile runs a week to keep my energy down. My dad says I am a great runner and will keep right by your side.


I love people SO SO SO much and am always happy to welcome visitors and my family home! I would do best in a home without small kids due to my big size, but would love to join a family where I can have some human playmates!

As I mentioned before, I need to be the only dog in the home and cannot go to dog parks, or doggie daycare. But if I am on a walk and see another dog don’t worry, just keep walking with me and I will keep on moving. I also love going to stores like Lowe’s and Tractor Supply for some extra stimulation! I love seeing all the shoppers and employees there and getting the free treats they have!

I’ve never been around cats, so have no idea if that would work well or not. If you have cats, we’ll need to test it out, ok?

Favorite Activities

  • Playing with toys!
  • Snuggling on the couch with my people!
  • Giving kisses!
  • Going for walks!
  • Eating yogurt!

Why I am looking for a new home

As I got older and started getting more mature I stopped getting along with my older sister. My mom and dad don’t want anyone to get hurt again and want me to be able to be the only dog so they are helping me find a super loving new home.


I am as healthy as can be and am up to date on everything!


I am such a good boy and will bring endless love and laughter into your home! If you have a little patience with me I promise I won’t disappoint you and will make you smile every day. I am so excited to start a new chapter of my life full of belly rubs, kisses, walks and cuddles! I am so excited to find my perfect family!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed.