Adopted: Jane

Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Terrier mix
  • Gender: Female, spayed
  • Age: 8 years old
  • Size: 40 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Maybe, depends on the dog and the introduction!
    • Cats? Unknown
    • Kids? Yes, very much!

Hello!  My name is Jane and I’m an extremely loving, loyal and fun girl!

***Jane is not a CDR dog and has not been evaluated by CDR.  This is a courtesy posting for Jane’s current owner, who will make all decisions about Jane’s placement.  To apply for Jane, fill out an online application at and the rescue folks will forward it to her current owner!***


I was adopted from a shelter about seven years ago by the daughter of my current mom/dad. When she was about to have her first baby she asked her parents, my current mom/dad to take me to live, and here I have been for the past 5 years. I’m quite comfortable here, staying mostly in a large sunroom with doggy-door access to a fairly small fenced yard.  My very early life before the shelter has made me nervous about the outside world so I’m super happy to stay at home. Though I love car trips too!


I’m very affectionate and friendly towards people I know, including children!  I like to sit on someone’s lap, or snuggle up under an arm—that’s really my ideas of heaven truth be told. I love my peoples and being all cuddly together with them! I especially like having my tummy rubbed and will lie on my back to encourage that.  I’m very happy when my people come home and will run around in the most adorable happy circles to show my pleasure, then run up to be petted.  I have wonderful greeting manners too—I don’t jump up on people at all, but I do so very much love to be petted and held!

I like short walks! I really enjoy going out to go sniff around the area nearby to our house, but I don’t need or want to take long walks.  I love a stroll around the block and do that quite happily!  If you want to take me on a longer walk, I’ll do that, but you can tell that I am always eager to get home, and once we start heading home, I pick up the pace!  I love being at home, feeling protected with my people.

I am of course totally housebroken, have nice natural manners, and am smart. I know my name and will sit and lie down, but have not been taught commands or tricks beyond that. I’m a straightforward loving dog who hasn’t needed to learn other stuff to be a lovely family member, but if you liked to teach tricks and that sort of thing, and it involved treats, I would be happy to learn!

I am playful! like treats and will play with bones and other treats, jumping after them and having an awfully fun time.  I eat normal dry dog food and drink lots of water. I’m a low maintenance but fun and very loving pet, who adores her people.

In keeping with my terrier breed (maybe Rat Terrier? Maybe Jack Russell Terrier?), I have a very “healthy” prey drive for the outdoor varmints and I’m quite the hunter when I get the chance. My current mom/dad had some rats in the house before I came and had trouble getting rid of them.  I could have taken care of that in no time, they should have asked! In the past, a few times, I have confused a small dog for a varmint and tried to hunt it like I would have a squirrel, so the difference has to be made very clear to me.  I haven’t done that in years, but it’s always good to be careful!


I will give a bark when someone I don’t know comes into the house, but am quickly reassured if the people are friendly.  I don’t have a problem with kids of most any age and get used to new people quickly if they are friendly with me, especially if they pet my ears and tummy and give me treats!

I don’t have experience living with other dogs or cats.  I might be able to get used to another dog; I’m friendly with the neighbor’s dog, but I don’t look for dog friends.  I have even less experience with cats so don’t know if that would work, we would have to check it out if you have cats.

Favorite Activities

  • I like running around in a safe place and can run quite fast!
  • I like short walks!
  • I like snuggling with people, especially if they rub my tummy and ears!
  • I like getting treats and playing with them!
  • I like sleeping in a protected place, like under a bed!
  • I love it when my people come home and see me!

Why I am looking for a new home

My mom/dad are now both retired.  They like to travel for long periods, like half the year.  That’s too long for them to be away from me.  I need someone who will be around most of the time, since I’m a people dog!!


I’ve always been a very healthy dog and have had few non-routine visits to the vet.  Of course I am up to date on all shots. I had a long lingering eye infection that didn’t respond to treatment, so that eye was removed a while ago and now it doesn’t bother me at all! I don’t have any current health issues at all. I’m a pretty trim dog, but filled in a bit for middle age.


I am a very special girl looking for a calm home with loving people around.  I’m not demanding or needy at all, I just need a calm loving home that doesn’t have too much ruckus and chaos in it!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed.