Adopted: Marvin

Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Miniature Dachshund
  • Gender: Male, neutered
  • Age: 1.5 years old
  • Size: 9 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes!
    • Cats? No, sorry
    • Kids? No, sorry

Hello! My name is Marvin. I am playful, happy, and I love being with people and other dogs!

***Marvin is not a CDR dog and has not been evaluated by CDR. Marvin’s family will make all decisions regarding his adoption.***


My previous owner, a college student, bought me from a miniature dachshund breeder somewhere in the vicinity of New York City. In addition to being in college, he was working full time, including some weekends and late evenings. I spent a lot of time alone and was very sad and lonely.

He brought me to Ithaca in August, but because no dogs were allowed in his home, I stayed with his friend, a 19-year-old girl, who also is a college student. When school began, my owner would come and visit with me for short periods every day and the college girl was there when she could, but that was not very much. I do remember spending a few terrifying nights alone in a locked room in this very unfamiliar place.

My owner’s mother noticed that I was very stressed. When left alone, I chewed my sheets to shreds and soiled my cage. She told her son that she would take care of me until he could get permission to have me in his apartment, but since this has not happened, I am now looking for a new forever home.

I have lived with her all year, and it’s been a much better situation!! She has given me all the time she possibly could, and I am a much happier little guy! I keep my blankets and sheets in perfect condition and I no longer soil my cage. Although I do not like to be left alone in the house, I happily stay in a locked play pen or cage for up to two hours as long as there are people in the house and I have a bully stick to chew on. And I can be without humans for a longer period if there are other dogs around to keep me company!


I am a cheerful, affectionate and playful little guy! And I’m enthusiastic! And full of joy! If I like you, I will let you know it! I wiggle my tail, I jump and stand on my two paws to greet you, I lick your face (if you let me, but restrain myself if you tell me you do not like it)!

I LOVE going on walks, running and playing with my doggy friends, exploring a fenced yard and most of all, I love cuddling whenever you are sitting or lying down!! I LOVE cuddling!! If you do not want me with you, however, I do not insist. Usually I stay near you, but sometimes I go to my soft crate or to my play pen in another room to rest. I sleep in a room alone and on my own bed, which is inside a play pen at night. Dachshunds have fragile backs and it is not good for us to climb or jump on furniture, so my current mom makes sure I don’t. I love stuffed squeaky toys, balls, Benebones, dog ropes, horse hooves, and almost anything else! Some of my favorite toys have been with me since I was 6 weeks old! [I destroy soft plastic toys easily and do better with small stuffed animals with a sturdy exterior.

I am flexible and easygoing! I adapt easily to human habits and routines. In my current situation, I wake up between 8:30 and 9:00 AM. Normally, my current mom takes me out just to go to the bathroom and then I take a long nap after breakfast. If she feels like taking a walk, I happily go with her and then I take my nap after. Around 11:00 am I am ready to play (but can rest until noon or even 1:00 pm if she is not ready). My most active part of the day is the afternoon. This is when I go for a long walk or play with my friends, humans and dogs. If I have exercised a lot, I am tired by 5:00 PM but I will never turn down an invitation to walk, play or snuggle!

I am small and have short hair. I love the summer and fall, but confess that hate the cold and the snow/wet!! Sweaters and jackets help, and I managed to go out 5 times a day all winter without a problem. But when it’s cold or snowing or raining, once I do my business, I would like to go back home please!

I am a smart little cutie! My original owner took me to a doggie training camp in New York when I was younger. When I came to Ithaca, I knew my name, I understood “sit,””drop it” and “down.” In the last year, I have worked with a wonderful trainer and now I respond to “Marvin, come!” I am housebroken, I learned to walk by my human’s side when on a leashed walk, and I can stay in the house all by myself for short periods (up to an hour) if I have a Kong stuffed with a treat, and can go for longer periods in the company of dogs I know and like! This should keep getting better over time, if my new mom or dad keeps working on it with me!

I am loving and playful, and at times a little rascally! Ha-ha! I will steal your socks, your underpants, your shoes, and your pens– and hoard them in my crate if you leave these laying around! If I am sleeping and you disturb me, I respond with loud grumps which apparently are so adorable that people sometimes bother me while I’m sleeping just to hear me grunt!! I guess people can be rascally too! I am a very good eater. Currently, I am on a raw diet and love it! My current mom avoids leaving other food around because I am quick to find it and eat it up lickety split. I still need to learn to stay away from human’s food, I am told!

I am super attentive to my human companions. Every morning, I let my current mom know I am up by whining for a bit, and if this doesn’t do the trick, then I bark. Normally she takes me out immediately, feeds me, and begins her day. If she goes back to bed after she feeds me, I respect her sleep but after an hour or two I go and check on her. I sniff her bed and her wrists and then will quietly supervise her sleeping. Sometimes I urge her to get up, other times, I will just sit and watch her!


I love most adults, although I must admit, that once in a while I take an immediate dislike to someone! If they prove themselves trustworthy though, I can absolutely change my mind about them and become friends. Children always make me nervous and I prefer them to stay away from me. I growl at them if they come close, to let them know that I don’t want to interact with them.

I try to befriend most dogs! My trainer has two dogs and they have become my best best best friends and I socialize and play with them and other dogs at least twice per week! I would love a home with at least 1 other dog, and would love doggy playdates or maybe to go to doggy daycare or the small dog side of a dog park!

I have a strong urge to chase other critters, so I’m not okay to live with cats.  Very sorry!

Favorite Activities

  • Cuddling!
  • Going for walks!
  • Exploring the grass!
  • Chasing balls!
  • Playing with squeaky, stuffed toys!
  • Chewing a bully stick, Benebone or a horse hoof!

Why I am looking for a new home

My current mom cannot have any pets due to her health issues. She took me in only because she recognized that I was really unhappy and incredibly stressed. Since the start, her intention was to help get me emotionally stabilized so that I could be adopted into a really great forever situation. Recently, her doctor gave her an ultimatum: she has to choose between her health or mine. She knows I would not do well in a facility where I was caged and alone most of the time; consequently, it is imperative for her to find me a good forever home.

My ideal new mom or dad is an adult who has lots of time to spend with me! I would be a wonderful companion for someone who wants constant company, or alternatively, for someone who works from home, could take me to work with them, or could have me in daycare when they were gone for long periods. This person must be active as I am still a young dog who needs play and exercise, so an elderly person would not be a good match. I could live in a home with other dogs if a good friendship between us is first established. And very important…I need someone who is gentle with me. If you or anyone in your homes is impatient or is a screamer, I would not do well with you. I’ve had plenty of stress and upset in my young life, I really need a happy, joyful and understanding calm forever home! And no children please, they really stress me out.


My breed has a fragile back. I should not climb furniture or stairs.

My breed has a tiny bladder! I need to go out to pee every 3 to 4 hours, and I don’t always ask to go, so you just have to take me out whether I ask or not. If you maintain a regular bathroom schedule with me, there are no accidents!


I’m a total sweetheart! And as long as I don’t have to interact with children, and as long as you don’t leave me all by myself with no humans or dogs for too long, I am the happiest little guy ever!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and we will forward it to Marvin’s family.

Comments are closed.