Adopted: Orion

Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Great Pyrenees/Golden Retriever mix
  • Gender: Male, neutered
  • Age: 2-3 year old
  • Size: 120 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes!
    • Cats? Yes!
    • Kids? Yes!

Hello! My name is Orion! I’m 120 pounds of love and sweetness!

Loves people, super affectionate, eager to please, incredibly friendly.
Great with dogs and good with cats who don’t mind a playful, fun-loving dog.


When i arrived to Ithaca, our veterinarian found that I am heartworm positive.  So sad, but wow, so lucky that I landed in rescue and in a town with awesome vets to give me the best treatment possible!  After initial testing, I was brought up to Cornell Cardiology in mid-December for a cardiac ultrasound and chest x-rays, to see how advanced the disease was, and if i was a good candidate for treatment.  It was all good news!  My heart and lungs looked A-OK, and I was cleared for the normal heartworm treatment protocol.

As of now in late January, I am doing great!  I had my first (icky) immiticide shot in mid-January, and am recovering very well from that.  I will have my 2nd and 3rd shots in mid-February, will take 4-6 weeks to recover fully from those, and then should be good to go!

The vets also told me that I have mild-to-moderate hip discomfort, so the rescue put me on good joint supplements which I’m very happy about!


Any donations toward his medical expenses would be very appreciated! Providing this big lover with all of the medical treatment he needs to have a long, healthy life is going to be a community effort. Thank you for any help that you can provide!


Orion won’t be ready to move to an adoptive home until his heartworm treatment is completed, but we are taking applications now. If you are the right home for him, we will arrange for you to spend time with him during the treatment period, so that by the time he is ready to move to your home, you and he will all already be good friends!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed.