Adopted: Willis

Hi everybody! My name is Willis. I am a sweet, loyal and fun guy!
Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Feist mix
  • Gender: Male, neutered
  • Age: 1.5 year old
  • Size: 35 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Some
    • Cats? No!
    • Kids? Yes!

***Willis is not a CDR dog and has not been evaluated by CDR. Willis is fostered at Mountain Rottie Rescue of New York.***


I was found as a stray in KY where I was picked up and sent to an overcrowded shelter. I quickly became a volunteer favorite and the great staff there reached out to Mountain Rottie Rescue who quickly brought me into their rescue. I have a fabulous foster family in Groton, but would love a permanent home to call my own!


I am a very loving, happy-go-lucky boy and am also a great snuggler! I have been working really hard on learning all the great doggy manners that I never had a chance to learn while homeless in Kym and my foster mom says that I am a really quick learner and very trainable! Yay! So far I know “sit,” “off,” and “stay,” (although sometimes I get really excited and it’s hard for me to stay still too long!). I even know how to “shake” paws! I’m pretty good at showing off all my talents!

I really want a home with a fenced in yard. I so love to run around the yard and am really good at playing fetch with my toy squirrel or a ball! I also love to go on walks or hikes and quickly settle down after the initial excitement of going outside. I’m really good on a leash and even know how to heel! I will come to you very quickly outside or inside when my name is called. I’m super eager to learn anything you want to teach me, and thrive on structure and repetition (and treats as a reinforcer!). I learn best with a little treat reward (what dog doesn’t?), but am also happy to please you and receive praise, love, and kisses!

I will help keep your yard squirrel free! I like to bark at them and chase them out of the yard, which is super fun for me, and one of the rare times that I actually bark. In most other situations, I’m not very barky at all. Also, my foster family has chickens, and I know that chickens are not the same as squirrels, and I do leave them alone!

My foster mom calls me a little love bug. I will sneak up onto your lap the minute you sit down and will keep you nice and warm on the couch while you read or watch TV! I’m also a really good listener if you just need someone to talk to. I have great facial expressions that let you know that I understand everything you’re saying. I will sleep on the bed with you at night or on a nice comfy dog bed next to you, or if you prefer in my crate next to your bed.

I love my crate and can often be found sleeping in it even when I don’t have to be. I will willingly go into my crate when you want me to without hesitation. Although, I do appreciate a little treat when I go in!

I am great on car rides and am 100% housebroken. I will go and stand at the door when I have to go potty. Like I said, I’m a pretty smart guy!


I am wonderful with people of all ages. I LOVE people! I currently live with children ages two and up. Although I try to be careful, sometimes I get excited and bump into the two year old.

I live with four other dogs right now and love to play with the ones that are bigger than me (both male and females). I can’t always be trusted with the small dog though, and I don’t like cats.

My foster mom thinks I would thrive in a home either all by myself or with a bigger dog who is around the same age and energy level as me.


I am a super healthy 1 ½ year old guy. I am heartworm negative and am on monthly heartworm and flea/tick preventative. All my vaccinations are up to date.


I’m an incredibly handsome, loyal and smart fellow. I would really, really love a home and person or persons to call my own family. I need a fenced in yard at my new home because I love to run and play outside

If you are interested in adopting me you can fill out an application at Mountain Rottie Rescue of New York. My foster mom would love to talk to you and tell you all about me.

Comments are closed.