Adopted: Riley

Hello! My name is Riley. I am a loveable, personable, Parsons Russell Terrier!
Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Parsons Russell Terrier
  • Gender: Male, neutered
  • Age: 6 year old
  • Size: 19 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes!
    • Cats? Sorry, no!
    • Kids? Yes! 4+ years!

***Riley is not a CDR dog and has not been evaluated by CDR.***


I’ve been a family dog since I’ve been a puppy. I was living with my dad until November when he passed away. Since then I’ve been moving all around the country with family members and am currently staying in Ithaca until I can find a forever home.


I am a happy-go-lucky, extremely personable, and affectionate dog. I love going to the dog park, socializing with other dogs, going for walks, and playing with the noisiest toys I can find! I am also fond of snuggling on the couch, sitting on your lap, and giving you kisses on your face. You will get LOTS of kisses if you scratch my back legs and behind my ears. I’m also very independent and enjoy taking long naps in the sunshine. In my spare time, I adore chewing on rawhides and bully sticks. As a terrier, I also love to dig around from time to time in the backyard, so you might have to keep an eye on me!

Most people think I’m a pretty funny guy, too. After taking baths I like to run around the house to “air dry.” I am very curious and enjoy looking out the window when I can. I am also very tenacious with my squeaky toys and am very protective of my bully sticks (I will often hide them around the house so no one steals them!). As you might be able to tell, I am very photogenic and will pose for the camera when given the opportunity.

I was in a car accident in 2014 (my legs got broken!), and I have been more low-key ever since, though I still love being active. I have been trained on basic commands (sit, stay, down, shake, come) and am very receptive to more training (with treats!). I also know the words “walk” and “dog park” and run around shaking my tail wildly when you say those magic words!


I get along great with people, other dogs, and children (4+ years). I do not get along well with cats or newborn infants.


As explained above, I was run over by a car in 2014 which resulted in broken back legs and pelvis. I have since recovered, but I still limp on my back right leg when I go for walks, however this doesn’t stop me from going the distance! When I am stressed and anxious, I tend to lick my paws. If you play with me often and have chew toys around, then this shouldn’t be too much of a problem.


I am a very handsome guy with a lot of character! I would make a great companion to any kind person or family.

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed.