Adopted: Koda

Hi! I’m Koda and I’m ready for fun, adventure, and love!
Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Australian Shepherd/Husky mix
  • Gender: Male, neutered
  • Age: 2 year old
  • Size: 60 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes!
    • Cats? Yes!
    • Kids? 12+


I was found stray in KY and landed in a high-kill shelter, where I quickly became a staff favorite because of how awesome I am with people and how incredible I am with other dogs! Luckily for me, the next thing I knew I was on a long car drive to central NY and into the awesome CDR foster program!


I am an incredibly good boy with a lighthearted and joyful spirit–everyone says so! I am a teensy bit shy in new situations, but I warm up quickly and then my fun-loving, super friendly, deeply good-natured and playful personality bursts out! I love being around you and am sooooo happy when you give me attention, play with me, talk to me, and give me affection! I love belly rubs, I love hanging out or cuddling next to you while you read or watch TV, I like to “give hugs” and sometimes kisses, and occasionally will even try to get a piggyback ride from you! I’m a silly boy, for sure! The rescue folks also think I am super handsome, and they say that my fur is so soft, it’s hard to leave the house for want of staying home to pet me all day long!

Something that my foster family loves so much about me is how wonderfully cuddly I am! I love to nuzzle your neck, curl up next to you, put my head on your lap, and I even hug!

I love to play! I have a jolly wonderful time getting the stuffing and squeakers out of stuffed animal toys (ha-ha! SO much fun! But watch out for your socks, and any other paper products that I can steal!) but my favorite play activity is to play wrestle and chase with other dogs. I am great with cats, but I prefer other dogs because they will play with me back! The rescue folks think I must have had very positive dog-dog socialization experiences, as I seem to believe that every dog I see is sure to be my next best friend! I light up when I see other dogs, and am over the moon to get to visit with and play with them. I love it so much that it would be best for me to go to a home with folks who have a dog, or would take me to the dog park, doggy daycare, or to play with their friends’ dogs! I am signed up for doggy daycare once a week until then!

I am a great walker, I love going for walks, and would be an awesome hiking buddy. I pull a bit (but I’ve gotten a lot better since my foster family has been helping me!) when I see other dogs (I want to go and play with them!) and when there is something extra fascinating to smell (feel free to join me!), but in general I have nice leash manners.

I’m a smart boy! I am extremely motivated by food, and am eager to learn just about anything if you can offer me a yummy treat! I always like to be right by your side. My foster parents have me on the “say please” program, which means I have learned to give them a nice “sit” when I want something like their attention, or to play. I picked this up really quickly and I “say please” on my own all the time! It’s great, because having nice manners gets me attention and petting and treats, so I’m hoping my forever family will keep this up.

I am great in the car, am 99.9% housebroken (I may have an occasional nervous accident), and sleep peacefully on a dog bed next to your bed all night long (though if you wake up, I will get up and keep you company for anything you decide to do). I don’t bark very much at all, but could find my voice more over time. Every once in a while when the squirrels outside twitter at me I get upset and I bark at them once or twice. I don’t like being in a crate much, but my foster parents are feeding me in one to help me feel better about it in case I need to be in one occasionally. I am still a youngster, so if you want to leave me free in the house, you will need to puppy proof things fairly well (I leave shoes alone, but I really love carpets, socks, basically anything with fluff inside of it, paper products, and occasionally legs of tables) and if I have another dog to hang out with while you’re gone, I shouldn’t get into trouble.


I am wonderful with people! Often calm, often playful, always friendly! I would never hurt anyone, but because I have a rambunctious play style that involves wrestling, “piggyback rides”, and occasional leaping/jumping, I am not appropriate to be in a home with kids under 12.

I love playful dogs!

I am fine with cats! I am curious and have a playful demeanor with them, but am respectful as well. I would live well with a dog savvy cat who didn’t mind my wanting to be their buddy; a scaredy cat would probably not enjoy my curious playful nature.


I am in great health!! I could lose a few pounds, but otherwise, am super duper healthy!


I am an incredibly good boy and excited to find my very fun, easygoing, playful and fun-loving forever person or people!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed.