Adopted: Harper

Warning: Array to string conversion in /misc/33/403/103/135/9/user/web/ on line 252

Warning: Array to string conversion in /misc/33/403/103/135/9/user/web/ on line 252

Warning: Array to string conversion in /misc/33/403/103/135/9/user/web/ on line 252

Warning: Array to string conversion in /misc/33/403/103/135/9/user/web/ on line 252

Warning: Array to string conversion in /misc/33/403/103/135/9/user/web/ on line 252

Hello my name is Harper!
Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Shepherd mix
  • Gender: Male, neutered
  • Age: 1 year old
  • Size: 70 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes!
    • Cats? Probably not
    • Kids? Yes!

***Harper is not a CDR dog and has not been evaluated by CDR.***


My owner found me at a rescue shelter in N.J. but I am originally from S.C. My mom was a German Shepherd and my Dad…wish I knew! There was Border Collie in the litter and you can see that in my floppy ears and some of my markings. Many people think I have Great Dane in me because I am still young and extremely lean and big! I may have some Lab too and who knows what else? Everyone just says that I’m the perfect mix! My owner has had me for about 9 months and those months have been quite eventful! When I was about 4 months old, I was bitten by a grouchy older dog above my right eye. I was just saying hello, but before I knew it ouch! I also had a pretty major accident when I was about 6 months old. While out on a hike, I met another dog who came at me with some fierce energy. To escape, I backed away and accidentally stepped too far and fell about 15 feet off a cliff! Holy moly, right?! I’m smart though…I ran all the way to my house right after! I had a pneumothorax (which is an air bubble by my heart and lungs due to impact). I’m healed up from both of those injuries, thank goodness! Perhaps these incidents have helped make me who I am today. I LOVE other dogs and am not afraid of them yet I’m submissive and know my place. Sometimes I feel like a big baby. I’ve been referred to as a gentle giant!


I am such a sweet dog, a great big love of a pooch! Everyone says that I am funny and very smart, enthusiastic and curious, fun-loving, adventurous, and super cool! I love my people, am very loyal and have a wonderful happy, even, sweet, all-positive personality.

I am young so I have a lot of energy! I love to run free in the woods every day!! I will keep you in ear/ eyesight for the most part unless there is a deer or squirrel. I love to chase them! I always come back though. I did a 6-week training course with my owner and learned things like how to sit, stay, lay down, and come. I’m smart and eager to learn!!

I’m great with people. I am a very social pup and I don’t like to be left alone for too long. I don’t have anxiety over it or anything, I just like having company! I do get excited when people come to the door and I’ll jump but after I say hi, I can relax. I think I’ll grow out of this trait, I’m still working on it and could use your help. I’m super friendly.

I love to be with other dogs, it might be my favorite thing in the world (other than being your beloved family member). I’d actually love to live with another dog who I could run around and wrestle with. My ideal dog mate would be someone who doesn’t mind me still being young and energetic. Also I’d prefer a dog who is not aggressive or overly dominant – I’m a sensitive puppy and want to feel safe!! I’d love a bigger backyard and a dog friend to play with and an owner that has a lot of time to shower me with love and affection and a little more training!! I’m hoping to find an owner that is super active and who loves to hike and run and has the time to do this with me every day!

Another favorite thing of mine is food! I have a sensitive belly (common in Shepherds) so my owner feeds me really nice food and not too many weird treats (they give me the runs). I’m just as happy getting a handful of kibble as a treat. I like to eat other things that are not food, so I need to live with someone who is very mindful and tidy and doesn’t have a lot of little things lying around. I’ve destroyed a couple of prized stuffed animals and I warn you…I would eat any toy, shoe, or object that is left unattended!

I need a lot of good exercise! I go for an off-leash woods hike every day and at least 2 other walks. I go to the dog park occasionally. I love it there, but sometimes there are bully dogs that pick on me and that makes me feel scared and sad. In a very friendly way, I like to jump on other dog owners at the park,–they smell so good! This sometimes bothers them because I am so big- I’m a whole lotta puppy! I have a small fenced in backyard that I can run out to do my business in and play smaller rounds of fetch/chase.

I can chill like the best of them. As long as I’ve let out some of my energy, I enjoy taking naps. I’m definitely more independent by nature, I’m not needy, and though I certainly can be affectionate, I’m not affectionate all the time (this is also very normal for shepherds!). If I’m tired and had some good play time, I’ll often snuggle with you on the couch or let you rub my belly. I love to play with my squeaky ball toy and enjoy a peanut butter Kong whenever I can. Due to my size I’m not really a lap dog.


I am wonderful with people. Very friendly, a bit exuberant upon meeting and greeting folks, but always in a very friendly, happy way. I bond really beautifully to my family in a loving, happy, sweet way.

I live with 2 young boys ages 8 and 12. They like to play with me and I’m very good with them! These kids are pretty cool and laid back types, which suits me well. I would probably get really excitable in a home with loud, wild kids, so that’s probably not a good match for me. I’m still quite puppyish at times, and like a puppy, my mouth/teeth sometimes gets on their hands during play times. Not biting, mind you, always just friendly playing, but still, best to keep me around kids 6 and older, and ones who are on the calmer side.

I have not been tested around cats.

Why I am looking for a new home

I’m looking for a new home because my owner doesn’t feel like she can provide the best life for me. She is a single mom and thought having a dog would improve her life. It is the classic case of a human wanting a dog and then the realities of the day to day care being too much. I have brought her great happiness and she (and the kids) love me so much and they are all heartbroken to have to say goodbye, but I take up a lot of her time because she really does take good care of me and she is beyond exhausted from it all. She doesn’t make a lot of money and didn’t anticipate so many expenses and it causes her a lot of stress. Some dogs live their whole lives without accidents and I already had 2 and I’m not even one year old! I’m also much bigger than she thought and I’m getting bigger every day. I am her first dog and I guess I surprised her with how much work and money it takes to take good care of a dog. So, we all decided that if she could find me a fabulous new home/family, then it would be best for everyone, of course including me! I’m game, I know she will choose a terrific person!


I’m a healthy dog. Up to date on all my shots and medicines. I’m a bit clumsy and accident prone, so I need another set of brains and eyes just to keep me on track and to make sure I’m not eating stuff or going places I shouldn’t.


I’m a very handsome, beautiful, smart dog. I’m loving, playful and a true gem! If you promise to give me lots of exercise and love- I promise to give you years of laughter and joy. I’d love a home with more than one active, healthy adult to take care of me. Kids are great, but they really need to pick up all their toys or they will end up in my belly which is dangerous for me and upsetting for them! I have a young mind and want an owner who has the time and knowledge to teach me all that I am capable of learning. I prefer not to be home alone all day. Another friendly playful dog in the house would be the best!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed.