Adopted: Sampson

Hello! My name is Sampson and I have a heart of gold and honey!

Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Yellow Lab
  • Gender: Male, neutered
  • Age: 10 years old
  • Size: 90 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes!
    • Cats? Yes!
    • Kids? Yes!


I came from a shelter in Kentucky, and I don’t know why my family left me there, for I am just so sweet and loving and well mannered. I was very, very sad for a while, but have come out of my grief and am now really loving being with my extremely nice foster family!


I am a laid-back fellow, enjoying naps in the soft dog bed, ambles around the yard, and playing with the other dogs in my foster home! I love to be petted, and I invite tummy rubs by rolling over onto my back–it works every time! I love to go on walks with you and see the interesting world out there.

I am happy to just be near my person, napping on the floor near the computer, or in front of the TV. I am fine when left on my own too. Although I don’t mind being in a crate, there is no need, for I am so well behaved. I know how to sit and stay on command, and also I love to shake paws (hands).

My job is to take care of my family, so I bark when I see a stranger near my house, until my family tells me it is okay. Then I relax, knowing that all is well. I like to take care of my family!

There is another foster dog here, a persistent little puppy, who likes to climb on me and lick my ears, and I never, ever lose my patience with him. Sometimes we play with his toys together. It is my job to keep him happy and entertained, so I certainly do my best!

I just want a family to take care of and to love. I would love to be loved and appreciated and to be taken care of too. And then I will be so very, very happy.


I am very friendly when we go for walks, and wag my tail to greet everyone. People remark on how well trained I am! I like everyone and everyone seems to like me. Sometimes we meet kids on our walks, and that makes me happy too!

I like other dogs, and never try to take their food when it is suppertime. We share. I play with the puppy, and sometimes romp with the older dog. I don’t play all the time, but once in a while it’s fun!

I like the cats, but leave them alone. When the cats are getting their canned food, I never try to take it from them. I am a true gentleman. I respect cats. Which probably means that I am also smart!

I like treats! Especially if they are pieces of meat or cheese. I will give you a very nice “sit” if you have one or the other in your hand. I know what I’m doing!


I am in great health! I have some allergy problems with my skin, so very much need a grain-free diet. As long as you get me good grain-free food, it’s not too much of a bother at all.


I am so loving, so sweet, and so gentle. And incredibly well-mannered, with hopefully many good years ahead of me. I never chew on anything, or bolt out the door, or pull on the leash, and I never have accidents in the house. In a word, I am a sweet and easy dog, and am super easy-going. I was so sad when my first family abandoned me, for I was always faithful to them. I want a family who will love me to the end of my days, and I will have someone to love.

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed.