Hello! My name is Champ and I am a sweet, loving, loyal dog who loves being a part of a family.

Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Mastiff mix
  • Gender: Male, neutered
  • Age: 10 years old
  • Size: 70 pounds
  • Good with…
  • Dogs? Most!
  • Cats? No, sorry.
  • Kids? Yes!!


Hi my name is Champ and I just turned 10. I have lived with my owner for 9 years and we have had many adventures together. We have lived in a big city, in the country where I could run free and in an apartment near Cornell University. I am very adaptable.

Several times I have lived with other dogs and I enjoyed that a lot. I even lived in California by the ocean with three other dogs. After their work our owners would take us to the beach for hours of running and play. That was an amazing year.

3 years ago my owner and his girlfriend moved in together. They both have children, a teen and a youngster. Then they had a baby. It has been so much fun. I love human company, kids of all ages, and being part of a family.


I have a wonderful personality. I am easy going, loving, smart, very animated and enthusiastic. I am an indoor family dog and am at my best when I get daily outdoor exercise and some good sniffing time.

I love to run, especially with other dogs that play fetch. They don’t mind me running with them when they realize I’m not interested in the fetching part. Recently I have been going to a Fair Ground where dogs can be off leash. Most of the dogs are nice and we have fun together. If a dog acts aggressive toward me I walk away. I’m not interested in fighting or being aggressive. I would rather be exploring.

At first sight I am a big serious looking dog but you can tell by my wagging tail and relaxed manner that I am friendly and curious. People often comment on how nice I am.

I do become guarded when I am quickly surrounded by a group of high energy dogs, When I was 7 I was attacked by 2 dogs when I was walking on leash on a path with my owner. I am not one to start a fight but I will defend myself if I have to.

I love to chase and chew big sticks but I do not bring them back. Indoors I relax my jaws by chewing on a knotted towel or balling up a throw blanket to chew. I find them very comforting to have around. I do like chew toys but I chew them apart very quickly. I also love treats and leftovers.

I am a sensitive dog and very in tune with human emotion. I am a great cuddly teddy bear if you are feeling sad and I can be goofy when people around me are happy. I can also get stressed out if people are very upset or angry. I prefer not to be around really loud music and I am fearful of thunder and gun shots. When these things happen it is nice if you can reassure me that things are OK.

All in all I am the best dog ever. Anyone, especially a family with kids, would be lucky to have me as their companion, best friend, teddy bear and protector.


I love humans of all ages and I particularly love kids.

I love to be in the mix. Hanging out with teens, playing with kids, napping with the baby, lying on the couch or the bed with my owners when they are watching TV. I love being part of what’s going and am rarely intrusive. If I do get too excited a gentle but firm reminder to calm down is all I need.

I am fine being alone but I do miss my human(s) when they are gone. I run to the door with my tail wagging and a kisses at the ready when they come home because I am so happy to see them.

When someone new arrives I bark with joyful excitement. I greet new humans with enthusiasm and curiosity. I like to sniff them and sometime I do jump up and give them a kiss.

I love being part of a family but I am happy to live with a loving individual as well. As long as we get good exercise and outdoor time I am content. I am currently living with one person and we enjoy each others company very much. I am in excellent health and have a great deal of energy and spirit to share. I love a good nap and a lie down in the sun on something comfy. I am mature, calm and very loving.

Favorite Activities

  • Going for walks and off leash time!
  • Lying in the sun!
  • Being with family and kids!
  • Eating snacks and leftovers!
  • Being with other dogs!

Why I am looking for a new home

This fall my family had to move to an apartment complex that does not allow dogs. We are all very sad about it but they had no choice. For the last few months I have been living with my owners mom. I have known her my whole life and we are close. Unfortunately she cannot keep me because she has a respiratory illness so I am in need of a new loving home.


Luckily I haven’t had any medical problems. I am in great shape. I am very allergic to all brands of anti-flea and tick tablets but did OK with the injection (in records). I am comfortable getting my nails cut and getting the shots I need from the Vet.


I am a happy, loving, snugly, silly, sweet, fun-loving, and loyal family dog. I love to be with kids and to snuggle and hang out with my family. A home where there are kids or someone who is home for part or most of the day would be ideal. I do fine home alone and don’t cause trouble when left alone but I just love human company so much! I hope my new family wants a cuddly, snugly big bear of a dog, because that is who I am!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca, Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed.