Adopted: Apollo

Happy Spring!! My name is Apollo and spring means so many new smells that I can’t wait to get out for a stroll.

    Quick Fact Sheet:

  • Age: 7 years old
  • Breed: Standard Poodle (apricot)
  • Size: 50-60 pounds
  • Gender: Male, neutered
  • Good with…
  • Dogs? Yes!
  • Cats? Yes!
  • Kids? 10+ years


I love attention, I love being petted, and I love being near you!  It makes me very, very happy to be part of the family and to spend quality time with you hanging out, watching movies, reading books, and taking walks!  I am no couch potato, but I  am a pretty chill dog when it comes to people.  When someone new comes to the door, I will bark to announce their presence but once they are through the door I hang back and check them out. If they start to pet me, then man… I’m stuck like glue to them! I just want more and more of whatever love they are giving me. Head scratches, full rubdowns, you name it, I love to be petted and petted and I show you how happy I am about it with my waggy tail and happy face. I’m not a licker or a kisser; I know some people don’t savor a dog tongue on their face, so I try to be respectful that way!

I’m pretty playful at times!  Tug is my favorite game but I can also pull my own weight with a tennis ball!   I’ll catch it and come back with it!   It’s fun to keep it in my mouth, but if you ask nicely I will drop it so you can throw it again.  I keep my toys in a crock in the corner of the living room and when I feel like playing I will pick one out and bring it to you.  How adorable is that?  It used to work really well until my people brought home a baby, and now they don’t have much time to play with me anymore.  We’re all sad about that.

I absolutely love to go for walks!   I’m generally out for a walk in the morning and the evening, but would always be happy with more! I’m a bit fastidious about where I poop !  So if you just let me outside in a fenced in yard I might not do my business; I need to walk for a bit and be a bit farther from the house! I don’t want to soil “our territory!”

I am completely house trained and know the meaning of most standard commands.  I do pretty well on a leash but sometimes a smell is so intriguing I can forget that I’m not supposed to pull. Still, it’s probably best to keep me on a leash, otherwise I may go after something exciting and be gone for a while.


I love people!  I am happiest when I get to be around my people, especially at dinner time!  When they are home, I will often sleep on my bed or in a sunny spot somewhere. When they are not home and have forgotten to cover the couch with something I’ll sleep there too! If they leave me alone inside and are somewhere outside where I can see them, I will bark and bark to let them know that I’m frustrated to be missing all the fun outside! But if I know they have left for the day, I just settle down for a good nap.

I love to romp with other dogs and do so regularly with the dog next door.  We chase one another, wrestle, and run after tennis balls.  It’s just so much fun!   When on walks I often try to pull my way over to any other dogs walking by, but I am just saying hi and want give sniff. I’ve never been in a fight with a dog and wouldn’t dream of it (unless attacked?).

I’ve lived with cats all my life and never hurt one. I don’t mind if they try to share my food, or want to curl up in my bed with me. I’ve lived with three different cats; right now there are two at home. One is my good buddy, because I think he thinks he’s a dog too. The other one usually swats my nose when I get too close, but I keep trying to win her over with my charm. Maybe some day she’ll decide I’m OK.

I sometimes have a hard time with groups kids.  They move so unpredictably and can make a racket and it makes me nervous and want stay close to my people.  I’d probably do best with children who are generally quiet and ten or older.  If you are the kind of family who is likely to have lots of kids around and hustle-bustle, I am not a dog who is going to enjoy or do well with that.  Ditto things like parades and big parties….I’m not a fan, so please leave me at home!


I just went to the vet on 3/28 and was told that I am fine.  Sometimes, once or twice a year I have to have my anal glands expressed but otherwise my vet visits are just vaccines and a physical exam. Oh, and if I don’t get to chew on something every day (C.E.T. HEXtra Chews are the best!), my teeth are like magnets for tartar and need a full dental cleaning!


I am really a great dog and would fit easily into almost any household that is on the quieter side.  I would love a fenced yard where I could sit and watch the world and think deep thoughts.  I’ve lived most of my life in the country but would have a great time getting to know the city too.

If you are interested in adopting Apollo, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed.