Adopted: Xena

Quick Facts:

  • Breed: American Bulldog
  • Gender: Female, spayed
  • Age: 5 years old
  • Size: 75 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes! Especially male dogs, they’re my FAVORITE!
    • Cats? Yes! Dog savvy cats are a-okay!
    • Kids? Yes! (12yrs + just because of my size but I know how to be calm too)

Hello! My name is Xena and I am a HUGE sweetheart! I’m a gentle giant (weighing 75lbs!) who LOVES to be spoiled! I’m part gentle giant, part princess!

**Xena is not a CDR dog but please fill out an application and it will be forwarded to her people!***


I was born in May of 2018 and the family who first had me didn’t have the time for a puppy so at no fault of my own, I landed at the shelter when I was just a couple years old. That’s where my awesome Mom found me! She adopted me in November of 2018, and we’ve been best friends ever since.


Don’t let my size intimidate you, I am a really sweet pup. My whole body wiggles starting with my rump when I see my favorite people! I get so excited I turn into a wiggle worm (it’s adorable!) but I know how to calm down too. I’m really smart and love to learn new things- especially when there are treats involved! Speaking of treats, I love to be spoiled- it’s just been Mom and me the last few years- kinda like our own girls club and I LOVE being the center of attention. I even have my own bedroom (guest room that Mom lets me take over!) but most of the time I sleep in Mom’s room with her, I am her sidekick after all. We spend time just relaxing on the couch too- I know how to balance out my energy with chill time too. I very much enjoy going for walks and I listen really well. I have my own embroidered walking harness with my name on it (I’m that fancy!) that I sport when we’re out and about. I would love to find a family who can take me on walks and get me out to meet people and spend lots of time with me. I’m super friendly and am used to having my favorite people and toys around me most of the day.


I love people, dogs, cats, and kids. I am on the larger (Errr.. shall we say “fluffier”) side and I’m quite strong. I don’t realize how big I am so a home with older kids who I can’t accidentally knock over with my butt wiggles would be best. Right now, I’m the only pet in the house and am used to having my Mom around a lot (she’s retired) so someone who has the time to spend with me is a must.

Favorite Activities

  • Going for walks (yes, please!)
  • Snoozing on the couch with Mom
  • Playing with my toys
  • Cuddling
  • Getting scratches behind my ears and butt pets

Why I am looking for a new home

My Mom is getting older and it’s becoming more and more difficult for her to take me out for walks or out to potty. She’s been pushing through her arthritis and other aches and pains because she loves me so much, but she realizes that I deserve to be in a home where I can be more active regularly. Additionally, and what Mom hasn’t been able to get around, is that her lease ends this May, and she will be moving into a retirement community where they do not allow dogs larger than 25lbs. She is heartbroken to have to give me up but is doing her very best to make sure I find the perfect new home.


I’m a happy, healthy dog but the vet says I could stand to lose a few pounds. Hey, if that means more walks, count me in!


Whoever gets to adopt me will feel like they’ve hit the jackpot! I’m sweet, chill, soft, loving and an overall really easy-going pup. I’m not high maintenance, I just want to spend time with my people, and I’ll give you so much love in return. My perfect home would be with a person or family who’ve had experience with a larger dog before and who have time to take me for all the fun walks and spend time with me.

So if you think Xena might be the perfect addition to your family please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca, Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers. The rescue will forward it to my current mom, who will a) be in touch with you and b) make all decisions about my placement!

Comments are closed.