Adopted: Louie

Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Lab/Shepherd mix
  • Gender: Male, neutered
  • Age: Almost 3 years old
  • Size: 95 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes! Yes! Yes!
    • Cats? Yes!
    • Kids? Yes, 6+!

My name is Louie and I am a big sweet loving pup ready to be your new best friend!


I was born in the farm country of eastern Washington and was brought to a shelter with my litter as tiny puppy. At 12 weeks old I was adopted into my current home. We lived on a little farm but was not a good farm dog because I have a strong prey drive, including for the chickens on our farm. I did love living there though with my big yard and fence to patrol. My family recently moved me all the way across the country to New York to a small house. I miss my yard but do get lots of walks and love going to the dog park and on runs in the woods!


I’m a big goofy, loving, wonderful boy! I have these silly expressive ears that are always sticking up and showing off my emotions. I LOVE people and get so excited when I meet new folks, like the UPS man, so I am not the best guard dog, but I am a sweet friendly greeter to everyone I meet! Sometimes I get really excited and have energy bursts, but as long as I have some normal daily exercise, I am chill and enjoy lounging around the house, especially when it gets hot. I find all the best beds to chill out on! Bean bag chairs are a special favorite of mine (unless you will let me into your bed!). I love a good snuggle and will rest my head on your lap and show you I love you with my big kisses!

I am quite smart and like playing games like “find the treat” and “hide and seek. “ When outside I am very distracted by squirrels and big bumble bees, and any little critter that I see (so I need to be on leash outside of a fenced yard). I am pretty good at fetch but think “keep away/chase me!” is even more fun. Swimming is another one of my favorite activites! When I am around water, you can’t keep me out! I love a good swim chase for the stick. And don’t even get me started about the snow!!! It is so refreshing to run and leap and bound through!! Winter may even be my favorite season because of this stuff. I love hiking and have even gone backpacking! I am happy to sleep in your tent with you, but remain nervous if I am asked to sleep on my own outside of the tent. If you want to camp with me, you gotta have me in your tent please.

Since our life was very rural in Washington, I didn’t get much practice at leashed walking in town, but I’m getting some practice since we moved her. I’ve done quite a few training lessons– first at puppy kindergarten, then through an online class and most recently working with a trainer—and am practicing walking calmly on the leash. I like to bark at dogs and other strange things when out on walks so my current mom is helping me to lower my threshold of reactivity. Really, I just want to say hello to everyone!! I will need you to keep helping me with this, but I’m learning well and improving quite a lot already! Other than that, I just bark when I sense that something is off around the house or intruding in the yard. Sometimes I can be a big wimp and silly things scare me, like trash can lids in particular!

Check me out on Instagram @littledanelou

You’ll see more amazing photos and some funny videos of me that show off my personality! 😊


I love all people! I enjoy kids too, but because I am so big and goofy and sometimes enthusiastic, I could accidentally knock over or scratch babies and little kids, so I need a home where all the kids are over 6.

I am amazing with other dogs and would love to have a doggy sibling or get to have playdates with your friends’ dogs or go to the dog park!

I have a strong prey drive, so should not live with chickens or other little animals (bunnies, etc) and need to be on leash when outside of a fenced yard.

Favorite Activities

  • swimming!
  • playing in the snow!
  • playing fetch!
  • snuggling!
  • hunting mice!
  • patrolling the fence!
  • playing with other doggies!
  • sniffing the smells of the woods!
  • running and hiking!

Why I am looking for a new home

My family loves me and it’s breaking their hearts that they can’t keep me but because they now have a little baby, a small home, and mom married a farmer who wants to have chickens, this home and family is no longer the right fit for me.


I am very healthy, neutered, and vaccinated!


I would love a big fenced in yard, fun and loving people, and a new family with no chickens! I love affection and adventure, so if you also do, we would be a wonderful fit. I adjust very well to new people and new situations and am sure I will love my new people and my new home as long as I have some good buddies! I am always looking to expand my social circle and hope this transition in life brings me lots of new friends—of the human and dog and maybe cat variety! I am so very lovable and hope to find my new family soon!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca, Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed.