Adopted: Sam


Warning: Array to string conversion in /misc/33/403/103/135/9/user/web/cayugadogrescue.org/wp/wp-content/plugins/carousel-without-jetpack/carousel/jetpack-carousel.php on line 252

Warning: Array to string conversion in /misc/33/403/103/135/9/user/web/cayugadogrescue.org/wp/wp-content/plugins/carousel-without-jetpack/carousel/jetpack-carousel.php on line 252

Warning: Array to string conversion in /misc/33/403/103/135/9/user/web/cayugadogrescue.org/wp/wp-content/plugins/carousel-without-jetpack/carousel/jetpack-carousel.php on line 252

Warning: Array to string conversion in /misc/33/403/103/135/9/user/web/cayugadogrescue.org/wp/wp-content/plugins/carousel-without-jetpack/carousel/jetpack-carousel.php on line 252

Warning: Array to string conversion in /misc/33/403/103/135/9/user/web/cayugadogrescue.org/wp/wp-content/plugins/carousel-without-jetpack/carousel/jetpack-carousel.php on line 252

Warning: Array to string conversion in /misc/33/403/103/135/9/user/web/cayugadogrescue.org/wp/wp-content/plugins/carousel-without-jetpack/carousel/jetpack-carousel.php on line 252

Warning: Array to string conversion in /misc/33/403/103/135/9/user/web/cayugadogrescue.org/wp/wp-content/plugins/carousel-without-jetpack/carousel/jetpack-carousel.php on line 252

Warning: Array to string conversion in /misc/33/403/103/135/9/user/web/cayugadogrescue.org/wp/wp-content/plugins/carousel-without-jetpack/carousel/jetpack-carousel.php on line 252

Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Husky/Shepherd
  • Gender: Male, neutered
  • Age: 18 months
  • Size: 70 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Mostly…see cohabitation section!!
    • Cats? Sorry, no!
    • Kids? Yes, 6+!

Hi! My name is Sam, and I am a sweet, loving, healthy, and playful pupper!

History

I was adopted 6 months ago from a regional shelter by a nice man in a neighboring county. I was so very very, very happy to have someone come and take me home! I was treated nicely, but due to my owner’s medical issues, i spent a lot of time by myself and didn’t get nearly as much activity and exercise as I’d like. When my owner had to go into the hospital, he knew he would have to find me a new home, so with the help of his terrific social worker, surrendered me to CDR’s foster program. I’ve been bunking at the wonderful Bed and Biscuit Kennel in Ithaca since then, making everyone fall in love with my silly, sweet, fun self!

Personality

I love people, I am such a happy young pup, I am lively and friendly and sweet and seem to be beaming an inner joy almost all the time. I love spending time at home with my person but am also just fine when my person is out for the day. I might chew on something here or there that isn’t mine, but it’s been pretty minor and I’m still a puppy, so that ‘s totally normal!

I love to go outside in the fenced yard or head out for a walk around town on a leash. It’s fun to see other dogs! I greet them well, no problems at all. I love long walks, I love exploring new places, I love going for hikes! I need to be on leash at all times, huskies just take off and don’t look back when they are off-leash, so even in safer places like hiking trails, i still need to be on a leash. Thanks for keeping me safe!

I like to fetch and chew on sticks! I also like to stand up on my back legs and give “bear” hugs, which is a funny name for it when it’s clearly a dog hug! My former owner taught me to do this, we both think it’s really fun! I also prance and play when I run which is super fun to do and I’m told is joyful to watch.

Like most huskies and shepherds, I’m not a big cuddler or snuggler, but I really love verbal praise, your attention, and I love doing fun things with you! I use my front paws a lot to express myself and enjoy pleasing my human! I’m a mixture of 2 very smart dog breeds, so if you wanted to teach me fun tricks and games and sports, I would learn well (if you used treats)! And unlike many young dogs, I actually take treats gently from you…even out of my former owner’s mouth! Haha, he thought that was a fun game! I have long fur and I’m told I’m very handsome. I do great when it’s cold and need a cool place when it’s hot (please have AC in the house in the summer!). I am housetrained, and I know sit, stay, and down. I’m gentle and learn quickly, but I’m big and still have puppy energy and some exuberant puppy personality in me.

Medical

I am a very healthy pupper! Up to date on rabies and distemper, and wear a Seresto collar for flea/tick prevention. I am neutered!

Cohabitation

I am great with people! And I seem fine with the kids I have met when out on leashed walks. Given my young age, living with kids 6+ would be best.

I am very friendly with other dogs and enjoy playing with them (husky style…which is kinda rough), but since i strongly resource guard lots of things (toys, sticks, even leaves that are in the yard!), i cannot share a home with another dog and should not go to dog parks. I greet dogs nicely when I am out and about on leash, though sometimes I get excited and bark at them!

Like most huskies, I cannot live with cats.

Favorite Things

  • Being a loved family member!
  • Playing with you!
  • Exploring outside, in a fenced yard, or with you on leash!
  • Running around!
  • Chewing on bones and toys!
  • Napping on a soft stuffed chair!

Why I am Looking for a New Home and Summary

My former owner is a wonderful man who gave me loads of love and care.  He leash walked me as much as he could (sometimes three times a day!), and provided me with a huge fence-in yard which was awesome.  He was the best!  But he has some medical issues, and though it breaks his heart to let me go, he thinks it’s in my best interest to find a terrific new home.  He wants a new home for me that also gives me plenty of outdoor activity, and with someone who will love me just as much as he does.  Having a fenced yard at my new home would be ideal, I really love having that!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca, Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed.