Bo

Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Bassett Hound/Black Lab mix
  • Gender: Male, neutered
  • Age: 11 years old
  • Size: 41 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes!
    • Cats? Unknown
    • Kids? 12+ (I like a peaceful home setting)

Bo is a super sweet, Hilarious little guy.

History

I lived with a man for the last 10 years of my life. Nothing bad happened to me there, but not much all that good either. Then my person got a girlfriend and she didn’t like dogs, so my person took me to a high kill shelter in KY where he lived. Super scary and awful for me. Luckily, a wonderful KY rescue person reached out on my behalf to Cayuga Dog Rescue, and put me in a temp foster home until they could have me driven by a team of volunteers up to central NY to join their foster program.

I was really unsure and shy when I arrived, but wow, it’s been awesome! My foster mom is a retired woman who is so loving and sweet and kind, and she has a great fenced yard and a volunteer who comes to take me on brisk walks several times a week. It’s awesome! She even cooks chicken for me (my favorite)! They tell me that they are going to find me the best forever home ever, and I’m excited to meet that person or those people!

Personality

I love the simple life! I love nice people, I love a brisk, sunny day, I love ambling around in the fenced yard, I love going for leashed walks, and I love chillin’ out with you!

I love being near my person, but don’t need to be right next to them. Sometimes I’m at your feet, sometimes in the next room, but whenever my foster mom moves to another room, I immediately follow. I really like lying on a rug, and despite there being nice comfy dog beds everywhere in the house, so far I have no idea that they are for me!

I do really enjoy affection and love having my tummy scratched. I also love being talked to, being told about your day, and I love listening to music or TV or podcasts with you!
My legs are very, very short, but I manage the carpeted stairs in my foster home easily to get up to the 2nd floor of the house. I love the house! Every time I go for a leashed walk–which I definitely enjoy–I’m also very glad to be back at the house when we’re done. I love the house, I love being at home!

There is a very nice fenced yard here and I enjoy wandering around it, sniffing everything and exploring—as long as my foster mom is out with me! If she invites me to go out there by myself for a while, I am not interested. I will just lay down and wait for her to let me back inside. I am not a dog who would enjoy being tied outside by myself at all. I want to be with you or in the house.

I like food,but am not very food-focused. I like my kibble and also canned food and the chicken that my foster mom cooks for me, but, get this…I don’t like treats! What a weirdo I am! The one time I did take a chicken meatball treat I threw up. Huh! I do enjoy my daily Dasaquin joint supplement chewies, which look and smell just like treats, so no idea why I like those but not any others. I’m silly!

I’m not very barky but I am a real communicator! I do this adorable mumbly-grumbly moaney sound all the time…sometimes it means I need to go out to the bathroom, sometimes it means I might like your attention, sometimes it means, “ah, these old bones ache a little bit when I lay down!” I am 100% house trained and have very nice and polite house manners.

I’m happy to have visitors come over, though sometimes I will bark for a minute when they arrive and might hang back with a bit of shyness for the first few minutes, but once they scratch my tummy, we are good friends. When my foster mom leaves to go somewhere, I bark for a few minutes, but mostly that’s it.

My foster mom says that I am probably the easiest dog she’s fostered, and that’s saying a lot as she has fostered quite a few! The only thing not ideal is that I really need to go out to the bathroom early (5:00 am), though once you let me out, I’m happy to go back to bed for a few hours with you!

Cohabitation

I am super sweet with people. I can be a teensy bit shy when new people come over, but after a bit of hanging back watching, I gently come over and if you are sweet to me, then we are good friends!

I haven’t been around kids, but since I like a calm, peaceful home environment, we think that older kids (12+) would be best.

I seem to be fine when around other dogs (like at the vet), I don’t show any concerns but I also don’t show much interest. I would probably be just fine living with a nice, mellow dog, but would also be fine as your only dog!

I have not been cat-tested, so if you have cats, we will have to check that out!

Favorite Activities:

  • Loves belly rubs!
  • Enjoys leashed walks and puttering around in a fenced yard and loves hanging out quietly at your feet.

Medical

I’m in great shape! I was just at Cornerstone Vet Clinic, and they checked me out and said all looks great (including my bloodwork) except I have a broken tooth and loads of tartar. The dog rescue will get me in for a lovely dental procedure ASAP and then I will be perfect! I’m on heartworm prevention and flea and tick prevention, of course!

Summary

If you’re looking for a chill pooch who wants to be your low-key companion, I am your guy! Can’t wait to meet you!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers. The rescue will forward it to my current mom, who will a) be in touch with you and b) make all decisions about my placement!

Comments are closed.