Xena

Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Pocket Pittie/American Bully
  • Gender: Female, spayed
  • Age: 2 years old
  • Size: 42 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? No sorry!
    • Cats? No sorry!
    • Kids? Love ‘em all, but age 8 and up would be best!

Hello! My name is Xena, and I am as silly, playful, and snuggly as they come!

***Xena is not a CDR dog and has not been evaluated by CDR. This is a courtesy posting for Rainbow of Hope Animal Rescue (contact info: 607-562-8085 sford@stny.rr.com) who will make all decisions about her adoptive placement. Please contact by above phone or email to apply to adopt.***

History

I was born in Yonkers, NY, December 22, 2018. When I was 6 weeks old I moved to Elmira, NY to be with my birth father’s owner. He put me up for adoption, and 24 hours later my new mom and dad adopted me and picked me up! I was raised with 5 other dog siblings and at the time, also 5 cat siblings. We got along fine until after I turned 1 year old. At that point, my biology decided that I need to be the only pet in the house! That’s why I’m looking for a new home. I am sweet as a dog could be, but am no longer happy to share my home territory with other animals.

Personality

I am a very (very!) happy girl with plenty of happy energy, and so much goofy love to share! If you like to laugh, to feel joyful, and are a lover of being alive, I am the girl for you!

I am such a goofball! And am also so very, very affectionate and loving! Mom throws the rope bone in the house…I chase it, slipping on the floor the whole time…I finally get it, and run back to jump not just on the seat of the couch, but all the way up on the back of it! Hahah, so fun!!! I do this thing where I lay across mom’s lap on my back so she can rub and scratch my chest and belly, then I turn playful. My latest thing is to jump in laps while my family is sitting in kitchen chairs. Once I’m up there I lay my head on their shoulder and give hugs. I sometimes will try to curl up in a ball on their lap. I make myself fit!

I love to give kisses!! I have cleaned many faces with my kisses. I give my kisses my all! I am also very caring and sensitive. I pick up on my mom’s emotions very well. In January, we had to put my big brother, Boomer down due to health issues. My mom would cry a lot over it, she tried not to let me see or hear, but I did! I would just climb into her lap, snuggle and give her plenty of my magic kisses. And even though she was sad about Boomer, my magic kisses would still make her smile every time.

I love when my extended human family comes over! I jump up to greet them (I know…not everybody always likes that, but I just can’t help myself, I’m so happy-excited, and my family doesn’t mind!) I love when they give me pets and booty/body scratches. My favorite people are kids, we play tug and fetch together!!
I love to run as hard and as fast as I can! Random zoomies are fun, but I like it best when my human big brother and I have races in our fenced-in yard! Hahaha, I always win! My ultimate favorite thing is to go with you in the car! If mom or dad won’t take me, I kinda throw a little bit of a temper tantrum! I am only 2 years old you know! I jump at the door and try to explain to you why it’s so important that I go with you!!! If I do get to go with you, I will always be first to hop into the car!

I am VERY food motivated so I will do just about anything if food is involved, which makes me ideal for positive reinforcement training! I am also very smart but can be a bit stubborn! I like to call myself a great training “opportunity!” I definitely know sit pretty well and I do have manners while my family eats dinner. Sometimes I will stand at their laps and whine a little. But if they tell me to get down, I always listen. I am crate trained and am used to being in a crate. But maybe you can teach me some more tricks like “stay” “down” and even “roll over?”

I would most love to have a fenced-in yard, but if you are going to take me on leashed walks, you need to a) be willing to work with me with positive reinforcement training as I am very reactive to other dogs, and b) be strong physically, and use a no-pull harness (because I am strong)!

Although I have lots of energy, when the weather is nice, I also like to just sit on our gated back porch, enjoy the breeze, and watch the birds. Inside, I love to cuddle on the couch with my mom so I can sprawl out, or I’ll cuddle in the recliner with my dad or human big brother. Once I am asleep, I will snore and snuffle louder than a sailor! My mom calls me her little piggy!! Not only because I will eat anything that doesn’t eat me first, but because I make a lot of different piggy noises! I snort and grunt and snuffle… I just like to express myself! Ha! Ha! Be sure to have your volume on when you watch my videos!

Cohabitation

I absolutely love people of all ages. Kids are my favorite though. And while I love children of all ages, the really little ones may not like me. I am a bit like a bull in a china shop with my happy energy, playfulness, and enthusiastic kiss-giving. For this reason, I should not go to a home with children under the age of 8 or 9.

I cannot live with other dogs anymore. Cats are also not a good idea. I like to play with them and get carried away and will get too rough with them. I see them as fluffy moving toys.

Favorite Activities

    1. I love:

    2. Going for a ride in the car!
    3. Racing my human brother around in the yard!
    4. Playing fetch with my toys!
    5. Snuggling with humans!
    6. Vacuum the kitchen floor! Chewing on my chewbones!
    7. Helping my family do just about anything they will let me help with!

Why I am looking for a new home

I am looking for a new home because I need to be the only dog in the house. My family loves me very much and currently has to work very hard to be sure they can spend time with me separate from my dog and cat siblings. They want a family for me that can spend all their time just with me!

Medical

Rough start. As a puppy, I was diagnosed with a level 4 heart murmur. My parents took me to Cornell and I was diagnosed with Pulmonic Stenosis, Type A. Thankfully, that was the treatable kind!! In November of 2019, I got heart surgery where they did a balloon procedure to open my artery flaps and…the surgery was a huge success! I had a cardiology check up in February 2021 and the doctor was VERY pleased with my heart! He said that my heart looks pretty much normal and that my murmur was holding steady at a 3! I will need to see a cardiologist every 2 years to make sure the flaps don’t grow back together. But with my energy level now, you’d hardly know I was ever sick! I know my own limitations and don’t overdo it! I have all of my vaccines and am spayed too! I am all ready for my new family!

Summary

I am a very loving, goofy, silly, hilarious, incredibly affectionate, caring, and resilient girl! I am very in tune with and loyal to my family, I just want to be included in whatever they do. I want my new family to like to spend lots of family time together and I would like a family that can help me be the best girl I can be (aka, lots of positive reinforcement)! I need good daily exercise like running around in your securely fenced yard. Since I’m not cool with other dogs, you can never take me to a dog park, and I cannot run off-leash, because if I met another dog, I might not be nice. In general, I am a happy go lucky girl, who just wants to be a part of whatever my family is doing! Oh, and it would be really good if you have a chewy.com account, I love the Barky Bark by Redbarn brand chew sticks! 😊

If you are interested in adopting me, please contact Susan at Rainbow of Hope Animal Rescue (contact info: 607-562-8085 sford@stny.rr.com) and get an application.

Comments are closed.