Adopted: Levi

Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Beagle
  • Gender: Male, neutered
  • Age: 9 years old
  • Size: 36 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes!
    • Cats? Unknown
    • Kids? Yes! 5+

Hello, my name is Levi, I am super friendly, smart, and generally quiet dog!

***Levi is not a CDR dog and has not been evaluated by CDR. Levi’s family will make all decisions regarding his adoption.***

History

Levi belonged to my grandson who went into the Army on August 24, 2018. He owned Levi since he was a puppy, but since he won’t be back for four years, he has made the hard decision to ask me to find Levi a new loving, caring home.

We (the grandparents) took Levi on August 23, 2018. He has adjusted well, he is a terrific, easygoing, wonderful dog. He is crate trained and housebroken–he comes and gets you when he needs to go out! He follows me around the house all day long, wanting to be where I am, and offering a very loving, sweet, companionable presence!

Personality

I am a very affectionate little guy! I love being invited to cuddle up next to my person in her big chair, I love being petted and scratched and talked to, and I love being a valued family member. I am super happy being the center of attention, but am also okay when that is not the situation. If another dog is in the home getting attention, I will (nicely!) come and ask for some attention for me too!

I am very personable, curious, and interested, and always want to be where my people are! When they are brushing their teeth, I am in the bathroom hanging out. When they are cooking dinner, there I am happily watching! When they are showering, I am right on the bath mat protecting them. And when they are watching TV or on the computer, I am laying beside them or on their feet! Nothing makes me happier than hanging out with my people. That’s the kind of pooch I am!

Another adorable trait of mine is that I love laying in the patches of sunshine that come through the windows. Oh, it is so lovely! I stretch out in the sun patches, looking utterly content, and sometimes even make this moaney-groaney sound as I lay there, such is the extent of my enjoyment! I also make cute little snoring sounds when I nap/sleep–everyone says it’s very endearing!

Unlike some Beagles, my energy level is on the lower side of the energy spectrum, which is perfect for people who want a generally calmer and quieter dog. I thoroughly enjoy sleeping during the day and am fine being left home while you are at work. But don’t misunderstand…I absolutely also love going for walks (yippee!) and am happy to report that I have very nice leash manners! I am very alert outdoors, and always have my nose in the air. Inclement weather doesn’t bother me–even if it’s raining, I’m still happy to go out and walk!

Regarding manners, I also listen quite well (once I learn your language) and am happy to learn new things (if it involves treats!). I don’t bark very much at all, though I will howl once or twice every great once in a while. My grandparents say that I probably would enjoy learning more cool new things, and want you to know that I am smart and have been picking up new things quickly since they have been taking care of me. I ride in the car in my crate very well and have a very easygoing, happy-go-lucky personality.

One silly thing…I go happy-bananas when the leaves are blowing around on the ground outside! I think that is the most amazing, magical, exciting thing, and I act like I want to chase them, but then I don’t!

Cohabitation

I love all humans!

I love other dogs! Am currently living with another dog and it’s lovely!

I am terrific with kids! But since little kids’ hands are just at my perfect mouth level, when they have food in or on their hands, I think it’s for me (yay!) and will help myself to it (gently, but still)! Given that, and that I am so mellow, living with kids over the age of 5 would probably be the best match.

I have not been around cats, so if you have cats, we would need to check that out!

Favorite Activities

  • Hanging out with you!
  • Cuddling!
  • Being petted!
  • Being brushed!
  • Going for walks!
  • Getting a bath!

Why do I need a home

My dad is gone in the military for many years, the rest of his family moved out of state and couldn’t take me, and my grandparents, who have taken good care of me since he left, cannot keep me though they wish they could. My grandmom has had 2 back surgeries and has chronic pain issues, so taking care of both me and her dog is more than she can handle long-term, and she and granddad are moving out of state soon too, so I need to find a new home before that happens.

Medical

I am in great health! I used to chew on my feet a lot, but they switched me to grain-free food and that behavior stopped. So I need to stay on a high quality grain-free kibble please. But other than that, I am in tip-top shape!

Summary

I am an awesome dog! The best combination of mellow and chill in the house, and delighted to go out for walks with you. I’m wonderful with people, kids, and other dogs!

Lately my grandparents will look at me very sadly and whisper to each other about something called “SPCA” and “not much time left until we move” and they sound so sad and upset when they say these things that I’m hoping whatever that means never comes to pass. Then they promise me that they will find me a new good, loving, caring, kind family to be my forever adoptive family. I hope that happens. Please come and meet me!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and we will forward it to Levi’s family.

Comments are closed