Sabrina


Hi! My name is Sabrina and I am a lovable old gal!
Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Beagle mix
  • Gender: Female, spayed
  • Age: 14 years young!
  • Size: 30 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes!
    • Cats? Not yet tested
    • Kids? 10+

History

I was owned by someone way down in KY who was quite unwell and couldn’t take care of me. I developed a really severe skin allergy and had chronic otitis in both ears (painful!) which went untreated for a very long time. My ears got all swollen and have stayed that way to some degree. I suffered a lot for quite a long time and was very sad. Then my owner finally decided she could no longer take care of me, so surrendered me to a high-kill shelter, suggesting that they euthanize me. She thought I didn’t hear this, but of course I did. My heart broke. But! Then good things happened! The shelter thought I was just the nicest girl they had ever met and contacted their KY rescue worker (aka fairy godmother) and that person contacted Cayuga Dog Rescue, and just like that, I was saved!

CDR didn’t have a foster home available, so they kennelled me for over a month in KY until they had an open spot and could have me transported up here. The kennel was awesome by the way…I got to stay up in the office with the other old dogs, and had a choice of soft dog beds to snooze on all day long! I also got some very needed basic veterinary care and life was so so so wonderful!

I just arrived to my new, wonderful CDR foster home on 11/4 and so far am loving life even more! I’m a slow, mellow older girl and have lots of love to give (and receive)!

Cohabitation

I am sharing my foster home with a senior male Pomeranian and we are getting along beautifully.

I love people, and especially appreciate gentle, happy people who like to talk sweetly and softly to me, and give me gentle, loving affection.
I haven’t met kids yet since I’ve been here. I’m sure I would be fine, but since I am old and a bit creaky, the rescue folks think that kids 10 or older would be best. I would not enjoy being chased by little kids, and would not like little kids falling all over me I don’t imagine!

Favorite Activities

  • Exploring new places (very slowly and not very far at first!)
  • Sleeping next to the heater!
  • Eating snacks!
  • Affection and attention!

Summary

More information coming soon! The rescue folks are just getting to know me, so will update the site in a few weeks! So far though…I am a super love and am so happy about my new life!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed