Ginny

Hello! My name is Ginny, and I have the softest fur ever! I am also the best spider detector in the world!

Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Australian Shepard mix
  • Gender: Female, spayed
  • Age: 5 year old
  • Size: 50 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes!
    • Cats? Yes!
    • Kids? Yes! 8+ years

History

In the Spring of 2013, a local Central NY dog rescue group rescued me from a high kill shelter in South Carolina when I was 9 months old. At the time, my current family was fostering dogs for the rescue group, and took me in as one of their foster dogs. I got along very well with their 4 year old male dog. We play wrestled, chased each other around the yard, and took turns fetching the ball. After a few weeks, my family decided to adopt me.

I am about 5 years old now, and have had a pretty pleasant life so far! I have enjoyed playing with my dog brother, running around the large yard, going for walks in the woods behind our house, and swimming in the neighbor’s pond (with permission of course!).

Personality

I love life, and especially love being outside, romping around the yard, rolling and tumbling in the grass, and chasing bugs. I will chase a ball a few times, but usually tire after a few rounds, and will lay down to rest. You could say I’m more of a sprinter than long distance “runner”. If I find a bone or stick in the yard, I will parade it around showing you how interesting it is, flip it up in the air and then chew on it for a bit. As long as you are outside with me, I don’t have to be on a leash, and will respond when called. I do really well on a leash during walks around the neighborhood, and respond to “heal”.

I am very smart, and LOVE to eat. I learn commands very quickly, and respond to “come” “sit” and “stay,” among others. There’s never been a piece of food I didn’t like, and I’m very good at cleaning up the kitchen floor if you drop something while preparing a meal. If you ask me to “sit” and “stay” in one place while you fill up my bowl, I will wait to eat until invited. I have a special bowl I like to use that slows me down from eating too fast, and it works quite well.

I am also very attentive, sweet and loyal. I like to be with my people by showering them with soft and gentle (not slobbery!) kisses, and following them around the house. I will keep an eye on the house and ensure everyone is safe by alerting you if someone knocks on the door or drives up the driveway. I love to have my back and belly scratched, and will lay and cuddle on the floor with you. I have a pretty calm, and quiet demeanor overall, and will kick back and relax with you if that’s what you’re doing. If you need space though, I’m also happy to take a snooze on my dog bed.

I am trustworthy, and if you need to leave the house for any reason, I do very well in my crate. I appreciate a treat when left, and usually get a Kong filled with peanut butter. Please don’t leave any blankets in the crate with me, because if I get peanut butter on the blanket, I will try to eat the peanut butter off, and have been known to also eat parts of the blanket. I don’t necessarily like the taste of blanket, but I really like peanut butter! Did I already mention that I like to eat?

My alerting abilities go beyond the doorbell, and if you have a bug problem, I’ll be sure to alert you to them! If I do find bugs, I have been known to play with them out of curiosity. I also like to chase butterflies, but have yet to catch one. I am a fun and spirited pup, and get much enjoyment out of the simple things in life.

Cohabitation

I love being around people, and do very well with adults, and older children (8+). I prefer to be around children that know not to pull my hair, since it startles and hurts me. I get along great with other dogs, and currently live with one older male dog. We play very well together. I like to be the boss over him at times, but can also read his cues well, and don’t bother him too much if he’s not willing to play. Although my current family doesn’t have cats, I have visited many homes with cats. I am very curious about them at first, but leave them alone once the newness has worn off. If I go to a home with cats, the cats should be familiar and comfortable with dogs.

Favorite Activities

  • Playing outside and running around the yard
  • Going for walks in the woods/around the neighborhood
  • Playing with/chasing my dog brother
  • Getting back scratches/belly rubs
  • Having my hair brushed
  • Eating/snacking

Why I am looking for a new home

With a heavy heart, my family is looking for a new home for me. They had a baby and I am not dealing with the transition so well. The baby has recently started to crawl around. She will crawl up to me and on me, and sometimes pulls my hair. This makes me very uncomfortable and stresses me out so much that I have growled at her. I prefer to be away from the baby, but this means I have to be put in another room or outside alone. I would be much more comfortable and happy in a home with older children (8+), that know how to be gentle with me.

Medical

I am a very healthy dog in general. The only concern you should know about is that I am highly allergic to flea saliva (dermatitis). I am treated with a monthly flea and tick treatment, and sometimes need steroid pills if the allergy is particularly bad (maybe once/week in the summer, and rarely during the other seasons). Please keep up to date on my flea and tick medication.

Summary

I am truly a joy to have around, and a wonderful companion for anyone with a semi-active lifestyle. I am looking forward to finding a new home where I can run around the yard and one where I don’t have to worry about small children. I’d like care givers who are attentive to my need for exercise, play, and warm attention. It’s important that they are able to provide a stable diet, keep up to date on yearly well visit vet appointments, and monthly flea/tick medication!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed