Archer

Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Pit Bull mix
  • Gender: Male, neutered
  • Age: 3 year old
  • Size: 60 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yessiree!
    • Cats? Sorry, no!
    • Kids? Yes, 9+ years!

Hello! My name is Archer and I LOVE belly rubs!!

***Archer is not a CDR dog. This is a courtesy posting for Rainbow of Hope Animal Rescue (contact info: 607-562-8085 sford@stny.rr.com) who will make all decisions about Archer’s adoptive placement. Please contact by above phone or email to apply to adopt Archer!***

History

I was originally adopted 2 years ago from a rescue in California. When my family moved to New York this year, I came with them, so now I am a New York doggie!

My dog “sister” (who is much smaller than me) hurt her back and everyone thinks it may have been because we were playing a bit too enthusiastically. She needed this major back surgery and she isn’t allowed to play enthusiastically anymore. For this reason, I have to be kept separated from her, which means I am isolated from the family a bunch of the time. Everyone feels badly about this, and I am confused by it. Our vet recommended that my folks find me a new home so I don’t have to be isolated from the family to protect my sister from anymore accidental injuries due to our playing, and sad as that makes me, I don’t want her to get hurt again, so I understand. I will be sad to leave my family but they promise that they will find me an amazing new home!

Personality

I have a very affectionate, fun and playful spirit and am very, very loving! My number one goal is to charm you into a belly rub. It’s a hilariously fun contest that I like to play…how quickly can I get each person I meet to rub my belly! Ha! And I am so good at it! I don’t think anyone has held out for longer than a minute…once I roll over on your feet—I’ve got you—60 pounds on your feet and my charming wagging tail and body, one brown eye and one blue eye—and you can’t resist leaning over and giving me the belly rub I’m after! I win again (well, and so do you, because I’m soft and adorable and everyone laughs while they give me a rub)! I also really love to cuddle. Everyone says that I am super responsive to people, which I hear is a lovely quality!

I am also a silly, goofy, playful boy! I will chase tennis balls as fast as my legs can carry me, and sometimes I am going so fast, my legs can’t keep up and I will end up with my face in the grass! Ha-ha-ha! And okay—I will chase the tennis ball—but don’t count on me bringing it back! The joy is in the chase…chase me, chase me, that is the best game ever! I also love to ride in the car and will stick my head out the window so my ears flop in the wind! What a goof!

I have some good energy, but I can get it out by running in a fenced in yard or going for nice walks. I am super good on a harness and leash—and would love daily walks! I also love to chew a nylabone, and have really nice house manners. I can be left alone in the house, either in a gated area or loose and I do great, I do not get into any trouble at all. Please know though that I am not a fan of a crate, crates make me very uncomfortable and anxious and since there is no need for me to be crated (I am housebroken and am nondestructive), please don’t ever make me be in one.

As for training, I can sit, stay, and high five on command! I just love to interact with my people. I will sleep anywhere my person is and will rotate my sleeping buddies! The only thing I am really afraid of is the sound of a smoke alarm or fire detector. Those sounds totally panic me, so please be sure to change the batteries in your smoke detector promptly—If a smoke detector goes off, I will panic—I get so frightened. Thunderstorms are okay though—they don’t really scare me as long as I can be with my person!

Cohabitation

I love all people!

I have never lived with small children but have been gentle with them when they visit. However, I am pretty big and exuberant so shouldn’t go to a home with very small children whom I could accidentally knock over or scare.

I love other dogs! I have been living with a wonderful female dog and we have been best friends. I really enjoy playing with other dogs, and am super patient to see how other dogs may be or how they want to play before I start playing.

I will chase rodents, squirrels and cats that I see outside through my back door so I really need a fenced in yard (or to be kept on leash if the yard is not fenced) and probably should not live with a cat.

Favorite Activities

  • Snuggling with my person on the couch
  • Charming the humans I meet into a belly rub!
  • Chewing my nylabone
  • Chasing a tennis ball
  • Going for a ride in the car
  • Going for a nice walk in the neighborhood so I can keep current on neighborhood smells!

Medical

I am very healthy and still have some pretty active bursts! I had an old foot injury, so I had surgery to fix that, but they did discover that I have some pretty bad arthritis in my back hip. I had been hiding it from my family only limping and lifting my foot occasionally. But now they’ve found me out! So we are working hard to find the right pain management for me. I will need a family that will be committed to my treatment plan and getting me just the right amount, but not too much exercise. So, some nice 20-30 minute jaunts at the park or around the block would be great but no super long hikes please as they might bother my hip.

I am up to date on rabies and my distemper/parvo and have tested Negative for heartworm and Lyme!

Summary

I have been a very, very, very good dog and deserve my next home to be my forever home! I want to be an integral part of the family! Make me your companion—I will play with you, walk with you, sit with you on the couch and watch a movie, be your bedtime companion and I can certainly live with another dog and share you with them! If you are interested in adopting me, please contact Susan at Rainbow of Hope Animal Rescue Inc at sford@stny.rr.com and she will send you an application. You can also call Rainbow of Hope in Big Flats at 607-562-8085.

Comments are closed