Adopted: Suzy


Hello my name is Suzy, and I am the sweetest, most affectionate dog you will ever meet!
Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Boxer mix
  • Gender: Female, spayed
  • Age: 5 year old
  • Size: 70 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Often!
    • Cats? Yes!
    • Kids? Yes 12+

***Suzy is not a CDR dog and has not been evaluated by CDR.***

History

My sister and I were rescued when we were pups. I have lived with Adam and Abby, my human parents, and my sister doggy for my whole life. I have had a good time living in the country!

Personality

I am super sweet and affectionate and love to cuddle with my head on your lap and give kisses when I am allowed!! I like to give kisses to my parents when they get out of the shower, which makes me ears all wet! They think that’s silly! I will lie in bed or on the couch and snuggle with you for hours, it’s so wonderful. I will lick you and tap you with my paw to ask to be petted!  When I am not snuggling I love to find a spot in the house where the sun is shining through the window and soak up the rays! Then when I get up, I s-t-r-e-t-c-h and do a very Scooby Do kind of yawn!

I am very smart and trainable.  I am fully housetrained and will let you know if I need to go outside.  I passed obedience school with an A+ . I know how to sit, stay, and come!  I learn new commands very quickly, and really enjoy doing so due to the attention and treats!  I can run free off-leash outside (with supervision) and love to play fetch at the pond, run around the pond and play fetch! I also love to go for leashed walks! I am a big dog with a normal good amount of energy! Oh yes! Another favorite pastime of mine is running around the pond and hunting for bull frogs! I never catch them, but the hunt is fun!

I love my dinner more than anything in the whole world!  A couple of my most favorite treats are meatballs and peanut butter.  I enjoy chewing on my bone independently especially when there is some peanut butter hiding inside.

I do have a couple of issues.  I get very aroused when my people come home and when something exciting is happening, like when I get to meet new people. I am so excited/aroused I just don’t know what to do with myself, and have accidentally jumped up and bopped people with my head! I would never hurt anyone intentionally, it’s just so hard for me to keep calm at those times. The trainer that my folks worked with suggested they put me on Prozac, which I’ve been taking for about a year and which definitely helps! I also have issues with my sister dog when there is food around. My sister and I have some tricky dynamics, which I’ll tell you more about in the Cohabitation section. I also sometimes try to eat socks, underwear, and wash cloths, so my people are very careful to put these items always into the clothes hamper where I cannot get them!

Cohabitation

I love people and want nothing more than to make them happy.
I have had good interactions with older kids (12+). I am pretty good with smaller kids but I do get very excited and could accidentally knock them over, so should probably stick to kids 12 and up. Kids who like being kissed/licked would love me!

I generally like dogs, and when I am on my own, I don’t have problems with dogs. Unfortunately, when my sister and I are together, we “pack up” and have been known to start serious fights with other dogs. Additionally, my sister and I have had a number of fights with each other. For this reason, my current owners think I might need to be the only dog in your home. It’s possible that I wouldn’t do this fighting behavior with dogs once I no longer am around my sister, but no one knows for sure. In general, opposite gendered dogs often get along better than same gendered dogs, so if you have a sweet male dog with no interest in fighting, it might be worth exploring!

I have been fine with the few cats that I have had a chance to visit and meet, but have not lived with cats previously.

Favorite Activities

  • Eating breakfast and dinner!
  • Chewing my bone!
  • Hunting bullfrogs at the pond!
  • Going for rides in the car!
  • Going for walks on my leash!
  • Snuggling in bed or on the couch!
  • Playing fetch!
  • Running free around the lawn!
  • Giving kisses while my owners are getting out of the shower!

Why I am looking for a new home

The reason that my people need to find a new home for me is that me and my sister do get into fights sometimes. Adam and Abby are having a baby soon and cannot take a chance on us dogs getting into a fight with a new baby in the house.

Medical

I am very healthy. I am current on all of my shots and vaccinations. I was spayed when I was about one year old.

Summary

I am a great dog! Sweet, loving, friendly, and fun! I am sad to be leaving my current family, but it’s time for me and my sister to have our own homes, and I am really looking forward to it!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed