Adopted: Winnie the Pooch

Hello! My name is Winnie the Pooch, I’m a city dog who wants to be a country dog!
Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Beagle/Australian Shepard
  • Gender: Male, neutered
  • Age: 2 year old
  • Size: 37 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes!
    • Cats? Yes!
    • Kids? Yes!

***Winnie the Pooch is not a CDR dog and has not been evaluated by CDR.***

History

I was born in New Jersey and was found in a cardboard box in front of an animal shelter with the rest of my brothers and sisters. A sweet couple who live in Queens, New York adopted me thinking that I was a Dachshund… but I kept growing! I’m a very good boy and they have given me the best home and life that they could, sacrificing a lot as I require lots of outdoor time and they have no backyard.

Last summer I spent one month in Ithaca, NY living with my grandparents and best dog friend Miles, a 3-year old Boxer, and it was the best month of my entire life. My heart sings and my spirit comes alive when I spend time in the country. That’s why my parents are looking for a new home for me up here near Ithaca. They love me to pieces, but know that they are not doing the right thing by keeping me in a 6th floor walkup 1-bedroom apartment in Queens. They don’t want me to have to spend my whole life living in an environment that doesn’t make me happy and joyful. Recently, I escaped from my collar in Queens in traffic and that was terrifying for all of us. They will be very sad to let me go, but if I get to live an outdoorsy, country life that makes me so happy every day, they will be so glad!

Personality

I am a very affectionate and loving boy, which is super cool because when I was young, I was kind of stand-offish! Who knows what being abandoned as a pup, and then adopted and returned to a shelter did to my trust, but suffice to say I had good reason to be cautious opening my heart up to people. Not anymore though! Consistent loving care from my parents solved that one bigtime!

I really like to give kisses (not drooly, promise!), and sometimes will even give them on command! I love to curl up on the couch next to my humans in snuggly fashion, and sometimes will take a nap with my head on their lap. Awwww! I also like to curl up by myself in my dog bed with my nose tucked into my paws which I am told is very, very adorable. I am very sensitive to those around me and can tell if someone is hurt—and if they are, I give them extra kisses. I am a people pleaser (I love making you smile and feel happy!), and am super smart and learn new tricks and commands quickly (provided there are plenty of good treats, praise, or my favorite toys for rewards!). Right now I know “Sit,” “Stay,” “Down,” “Come,” “Bring,” “Paw,” “Give,” “Kiss,” “Up,” (to jump over or on top of something) and “Sleep.. I can be a little um…forgetful?…so it helps if I get regular training practice and reinforcement with treats and toys so I remember to be a good listener and follow directions!

I love to be active and be outside! My energy level is pretty high so I need a good amount of exercise every day to make me happy (also, so I don’t get too rambunctious!). I love running and would be a fantastic jogging buddy, and/or if you took me to the dog park or for doggy play dates in a fenced yard! I would be over the moon! I have had fun pulling humans in my harness while they skateboard next to me, though I don’t think you want to try that unless you are an awfully good skateboarder. Sometimes my humans let me carry a stick when we go for a walk so that I have a job. It makes me feel proud and happy! I walk well on a leash and am used to wearing a prong collar, but if you didn’t like those too much, a Sensation harness might work just as well. Because I was raised in Queens, I am used to cars, noise, and lots of people, so none of that freaks me out. I really thrive on routine and predictability; when I was younger I would get out of sorts/nervous if things changed too much too quickly, but I am becoming more flexible as I get older!

I am a wonderfully vocal dog and I do communicate quite well when I need something. For example, if I am thirsty and my water bowl is empty, I will follow my humans around the house and give little half barks or growls to alert them to this situation-in-need-of-fixing! The same is true if I need to go outside to pee! Sometimes, I just need an activity to occupy me, and some favorites of mine are untying a rope knot or chewing on a nylabone. I am becoming a really good guard dog and howl and bark when someone knocks on the door, but as soon as I see that it is a friend, I stop barking and give them lots of kisses!! When I am in my kennel during the day and at bedtime I am very relaxed and usually just go to sleep. I never bark when I am in my kennel except for a little bit in the morning when I need to go out.

Cohabitation

I LOVE people!

I LOVE children of all ages, including babies and toddlers and have been around lots of them!

I LOVE dogs! I have lived with another dog (my best doggy friend Miles the Boxer) for a month, but have not had other pets in my home. However, I am well socialized with other dogs and enjoy their company very, very much. My only problem is that I often have more energy than they do, so sometimes they or my owners have to tell me to back off and settle down to give them a rest.

Favorite Activities

  • Playing games
  • Being chased is my favorite
  • Fetching balls/sticks/toys
  • Tug-o-war with other dogs
  • Cuddling (after I’ve had my exercise, I’m super affectionate and dopey)
  • Conquering challenges (getting food out of Kong toys, getting my Nylabones untied from ropes, getting bully sticks out of toys)
  • Playing with other dogs (I love to run and wrestle and chase!)
  • Going outside! I go to the park almost every day, but my favorite is when I get to visit my extended family upstate and go for hikes…so many smells to track! I even get to go in the water upstate!

Medical

I’m in great health! A super healthy 2 year old boy who is microchipped!

Summary

I am an awesome dog for the right person in the right environment! I am super energetic, entertaining, intelligent, affectionate and I am looking for a home with humans who want an outdoor buddy to bring them joy and excitement. I need a person or family who will take responsibility for me outside so that I can continue to explore and learn. I need someone who will love my gorgeous and exuberant spirit, and who loves going on long hikes, runs or training sessions in the backyard. I would love some regular doggy playmates or a doggy sibling, and I would be a dream agility dog for someone who wants to train me!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed