Adopted: Danny

Hello! My name is Danny, and I am the bestest boy around!
Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Chocolate Lab
  • Gender: Male, neutered
  • Age: 7 year old
  • Size: 90 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? No!
    • Cats? Yes!
    • Kids? Yes!

History

I was adopted by my former owners as a little puppy and they have loved me and taken fabulous care of me for the past 7 years. Unfortunately, they have other dogs in the house, and for some reason I just cannot share a home with another dog. I am an incredibly good boy—I am well-mannered, have a gorgeous, loving, amazingly wonderful, affectionate, silly, and sweet personality (I love all people, cats, and children!), but since I keep getting into fights with the other dogs, we all decided that for me (and everyone else) to be happy and safe, I need to find a new home where I will be the only dog in the house.

Personality

I am told that I am the quintessential Lab personality. Sweet, silly, goofy, loving, affectionate, joyful and easygoing. I love people (of all ages including little kids!), and I am over the moon when getting affection! I utterly delight in cuddling, giving and getting kisses, getting ear and neck and chest scratchies, and having my belly rubbed!! I love interacting with you, but am also fine on my own when you’re doing your own thing.

I am sweetly enthusiastic in certain situations like when you come home, when we are going out for a walk, when you throw a ball for me, when it’s mealtime, or when you offer me an ice cube (my favorite!), but otherwise I have a very relaxed and mellow energy. Most of the time I am quite content to spend most of the day lazing around on the most comfortable bed I can find, usually on my back with my feet in the air! I often follow my foster mom around so that I can be in the same room as she is, but if I am nested particularly comfortably on a bed, I might linger in a different room for a while. My foster mom says that sometimes I come up and rest my head in her lap, but I often give her her space, which she really appreciates. This all to say that I am very bonded and interested in being with you a lot, but I’m not needy or clingy about it.

I have lovely house manners. As long as you don’t do something silly like leave food out on the counters, I am a perfect gentleman in the house, both when you are home and when you are gone. No need to crate me, I don’t do anything wrong and of course am perfectly housebroken. When I need to go out to the bathroom, I let you know by sitting by the door, looking back at you over my shoulder with a forlorn and soulful gaze. And before each meal, I sit by my bowl until I am told “ok!” and then I eat my meal! I know sit, stay and come, am very responsive to positive training using treats, and for sure could learn many more commands or tricks if you wanted to teach me.

In the fenced yard I love to sniff around looking for squirrels and lope around ‘cause it’s fun to lope! I love to chase a ball–especially a rubber squishy one—but sorry to say, I don’t bring it back! Either no one tried to teach me that, or I just can’t get myself to do it, we’re not sure, but as long as you have multiple balls, you can keep me chasing for a while!

I’m not having leashed walks right now because I am big and strong and my foster mom has a hurt knee, but I would love to go for leashed walks in the future. It would be wise to get me a Sensation or Sensible harness for walking, as that would help me learn not to pull. My foster mom thinks I would probably love to go on leashed hikes with you, though at my age, probably not all day long hikes!

Cohabitation

I am absolutely wonderful with all people and I love children and am very patient with them.

I am terrific with cats and have lived with one very sweetly for many years.

I cannot live with another dog, of either gender. And since I am not good with other dogs, I cannot ever be allowed to be off-leash in places (like hiking trails) where I could encounter another dog. I hope it goes without saying that I should never go to a dog park (disaster!), and if friends of yours are visiting and they are bringing a dog with them, I need to be kept separated (in a bedroom) for the whole visit.

I am fine seeing other dogs while out on leashed walks as long as you keep me close to you and do not let the other dog come over to sniff and greet me. That means, never off leash, and no long retractable leashes anywhere where we might encounter other dogs please!

Favorite Activities

  • Hanging out with people! Affection! Attention!
  • Food! Yum, yum, yum!
  • Chasing after my ball!
  • Laying around the house on soft dog beds!
  • Hearing the ice cube maker dispensing ice cubes and then having you give me one!

Medical

I am in great health. I have seen a wonderful vet for my entire life (CDR knows him and says he’s marvellous!), and have been kept up to date and healthy in every way. I eat a very nice grain-free food, which I should stay on, since it works so well for me.

Summary

My foster mom says that I am a lovely, undemanding, incredibly happy, friendly, and joyful companion and that anyone would be lucky to have me join their family!​

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed