Adopted: Buddy

Hi! I’m Buddy and I’m an incredibly sweet and loving little guy!
Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Mini Poodle mix
  • Gender: Male, neutered
  • Age: 8 year old
  • Size: 21 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes!
    • Cats? Yes!
    • Kids? Yes!


I came all the way from Kentucky and have a sad story to tell. My former owner was elderly and not doing well, and consequently, though she loved me, she didn’t take proper care of me. When she had to go and live in a hospital full-time, I was turned into a shelter, and was in sad shape. My skin and fur was a mess, and I looked like a raccoon with black circles around my eyes from the untreated eye infection that I had probably had for quite some time. Luckily, after hopping a ride on the Doggy Underground Railroad, I joined the CDR foster program and landed in a home with a foster mom (and local veterinarians) who has taken amazing care of me!! My eyes are all healed, my skin and fur are now lustrous and soft and I am so happy!


I am a Mini Poodle mix with a nonstop friendliness and happiness in every cell of my sweet little body! I love everyone! I greet strangers with my excited happy “bark-bark-bark,” and within a few minutes, you are my new best friends! I live for your attention and to be with you, no matter what you are doing. I enjoy following you around, plopping down on beds or couches nearby, or engaging in a fun game with you!

I am very affectionate and love to give little soft kisses! I can tell when people want me around and where they want me to be. For instance, I sit in my foster mom’s lap because she loves it. Grandma (her mom)–well, I sit right next to her and rest my head in her lap because that’s what she prefers! When there are lots of people on the couch I like to try to squeeze in but I love my dog bed too, in case there isn’t room for me!

I have a lot of spunk! I love to play! I love chasing tennis balls or stuffed animals toys, I love running around the dog park with other dogs, I love going for car rides and adventures, I love anything you want to do!

That said, I’m not hyper in the least. I’m told that I am the perfect combination of playful and restful. While I love playing and adventure, I also love laying on the couch next to you (or on your lap) binge watching Netflix too!


I am amazing with people!

I am wonderful around gentle children! I love children and will be happy to play with them. I have not been tested with infants but I believe I would be equally as charming.

I am terrific with other dogs! I go to the dog park with my foster mom, her dog and my foster grandmother’s dogs too. I like to sniff every blade of grass and bush, tree or bench. I chase balls for fun but sometimes I like to keep them for myself and not bring them back to you.

I was cat tested in KY before I came up here and they said I was “A-OK!” with them. My foster mom doesn’t have any so we’ll want to verify that if you have some! My foster mom does have two chickens and a hedgehog and I am very well behaved around them!


I am in SUCH better health now! Due to previous untreated eye infections, my tear ducts don’t function correctly and as a result the fur around my eyes stains brown if my face is not gently washed regularly. I don’t mind you washing my face at all! All you need is to gently rub a warm, wet wash cloth around my eyes and I am a brand new dog! I take pills for my fur twice a day to keep me healthy but just a dab of cream cheese makes them go down easy!

The awesome veterinarians here have done full bloodwork panels on me and have been checking me out for thyroid issues. My bloodwork is all awesome (so healthy!) and since I am a tiny bit on the low side for thyroid, they are starting me on a very low dose of thyroid medicine. No big deal, a tiny pill twice a day (in cream cheese please!) and I’m groovy!

Favorite Activities

  • Chasing tennis balls!
  • Snuggling with you!
  • Going to the dog park!
  • Riding in the car with the window half down!


I would love a home with a happy sweet person or people who aren’t gone tooooo much or who have another pooch in the house! Please be someone who likes to throw tennis balls and who wants to cuddle and snuggle! Can’t wait to meet you!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed.