Adopted: Nali


Hi! My name is Denali but everyone calls me Nali, and I am an energetic and loving Husky girl!!
Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Husky
  • Gender: Female, spayed
  • Age: 3 years old
  • Size: 50 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes!
    • Cats? Yes!
    • Kids? Untested, so 8+

Nali is not a CDR dog. This is a courtesy posting. To apply to adopt Nali, fill out an adoption application and we will forward it to her mom.

History

I am from Utica NY, and was adopted when I was ~ 10 weeks old and have been with my mom since then. When I was just over a year old and coming back from a fun afternoon at the dog park, I was attacked by another dog while I was on the leash (and thus couldn’t escape). I do not have any medical complications resulting from this incident but ever since, I am very nervous about seeing other dogs when I am walking on leash. Not a surprise, huh? My mom just crosses the road to avoid other dogs in this situation, which makes me feel much more comfortable.

Personality

I enjoy going on walks, and as summer can be hot and we huskies have super, super thick coats, I do like to cool off in the creek or in kiddie pools!

Winter is my season—it’s so fun! I love when I’m out in the back yard and snow gets thrown up into the air! I catch it and eat it, and then I run really fast in circles and then hide in the snow! Best. Game. Ever!! I enjoying playing with you or other dogs, and chasing bugs around the backyard! Leaves blowing in the wind are also a big fascinating mystery to me and sometimes I will chase them which my mom says is utterly hilarious!

But just like anyone else I enjoy naps and chilling out too! I love to nap on the couch, in the shade, on the carpet, on my bed, on your bed–you name it, I’ll nap on it! Although I haven’t mastered “fetch” I do enjoy “tug-o-war” with my rope.

I like to think I am pretty smart! My mom has taught me sit, paw, lay down and stay! But I do have a tendency to be kinda of clumsy– when I go on walks sometimes I look at my human instead of where I am going and then trees seem to run right into me! My human says I am so incredibly cute and laughs when this happens.

Although I am cute and fun, I do also enjoy being independent. When my human is making food in the kitchen sometimes I come lay down in the middle of the room to keep her company, but I may also go lay down in another room, or in the backyard. I’m not much into cuddling, but sometimes I do enjoy it. Just not all the time like some silly Lab might! When my human is on the couch I may come lay next to her on the couch and put my head on her lap (but not a lot), or I may lay on the ground underneath her.

Cohabitation

I really enjoy people! I’ll greet you whenever you come home and give you lots of happy, joyful kisses!

I’ve never been with kids, so a safe guess would be to say kids over the age of 8!

I like other dogs! I go to dog parks, have been to doggie day camp, and used to have a best friend boy puppy (my mom’s roommate’s dog) so safe to say that I’m very good around other dogs, but would prefer that if I lived with one, it be a male dog. As noted above, I am nervous seeing other dogs when I’m on leash because of having been attacked by a dog when I was on leash. So please leash walk me in areas where you can keep a good distance between me and other dogs!

I have lived with cats before and I want to play with them but they don’t want to play with me!

Favorite Activities

  • Going for walks!
  • Running around in the back yard!
  • Chasing after frogs, snakes or bugs, the occasional leaf!
  • Playing tug-o-war!
  • Napping!
  • Eating treats!

Why I am looking for a new home

My human is a graduate student and will be doing a lot more traveling than she anticipated she would have to do for the coming many years. Although she loves me very much, she wants to do what is best for me and does not want my doggie life to suffer.

Medical

The only medical history is that of the dog attack earlier, other than that I am a healthy happy dog.

Summary

Aside from how pretty I am, I am talkative (when you come home I’ll give you a few howls) but I hope in my new home I will have a big backyard (fenced in) to play in with you and run circles in. I hope that we can escape the heat inside or in a kiddie pool together. I hope to take naps and go on plenty of walks as well!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed