Adopted: Maggie


Hi! I’m Maggie and I’m so much fun!

Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Great Pyrenees
  • Gender: Female, spayed
  • Age: 7 years old
  • Size: 75 pounds (thin)
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes!
    • Cats? Yes!
    • Kids? Probably!

History

No one knows what my previous situation was, only that I ended up stray and was taken to a very icky, very depressing, high kill shelter in KY. I thought that might be the end of everything for me, but a wonderful KY rescue lady heard about me and said she would take me and get me to a great rescue in NY, and just like that… my life turned around completely! I caught a ride up and joined my fabulous Ithaca-area foster family, and life has never been better!

Personality

I just love people so much!!! I love to meet them and love it when they pet me! I jump around with total joy when the people come home from work because I am so excited to see them! I am such a big goof! I am about 7 years old but I am so youthful and spunky! I love going for walks– I could walk forever! I’ll even run with you (a little bit) if you want! I am gaining back some weight and need to put some muscle back on my legs. I am so excited to be getting regular delicious meals!

When the people stop petting me I remind them gently to get back to it by nudging them with my huge head, or I’ll give them my paw! It’s hard to believe, but sometimes people do end up getting tired of petting me, and when that happens, I just walk away and visit with my foster brother dog or I go explore the yard a bit!

I have not been in Ithaca for very long, but so far I have been very quiet. I bark if I hear a car in the driveway, and sometimes I bark at the cats if they are breaking the rules (I am not allowed in the kitchen, so when the cats go in the kitchen, I bark at them!). I try to help my foster mom and dad run a tight ship! I am very chill and relaxed and easygoing, which is a good match for my new life because life is easy and wonderful now!

Here are some other favorite things. I love sleeping on my dog bed (so soft, so yummy), and I love trying to play with my foster brother! I love to sniff the cats, but I don’t chase them at all. I like to find a drafty spot and sleep in front of it! Winter is the favorite season of us Great Pyrs, and I can’t wait for the cold and the snow! I love getting treats–soft treats are soooo yummy! I love to eat breakfast and dinner too! Sometimes I sneak past the people here and even eat the cat food, hehe. Oh, and at my temp foster home in KY, I was quite the counter-surfer (I am tall) so if you want to allow me to roam in your kitchen, you need to never leave any food items out on the counter! You have been duly cautioned!

I am perfect on the leash. I never pull and I just turn around whenever the people say that it’s time to head home. I like to sniff a lot, there are so many smells! Unfortunately I like to roll in goose poop too. Hey, no one is perfect!

I love getting brushed and will tolerate it for a LONG time (an hour!). This is great because I have a thick double coat, which requires very regular brushing (my foster mom suggests every day for a few minutes, and one day a week for a whole hour to really get it done).

Cohabitation

I love everyone– people, cats, and dogs! I really want to play with my friend and foster sibling, Benny, who is an elder blind Chocolate Lab, but he isn’t into it (yet). Maybe someday! I have 2 cat friends here and the other cat isn’t too sure about me. He would probably like me better if I stopped trying to smell him all the time, but I can’t help myself.

Medical

I came to Ithaca a bit underweight but I still need to gain a few pounds. We also know that I need to have a good dental cleaning done, which will happen once I am at a weight that makes it safe for me to have anesthesia. Other than that, I appear to be in good health, but I’m still waiting for my appointment with the nice people over at the Cornerstone Vet Clinic.

Summary

I’m a big ball of goofball lovin’ and I can’t wait to meet the people who want to bring some furball fun into their lives!!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed