Adopted: Barley


Hello! My name is Barley, and I am a super fun pooch!

Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Yellow Lab
  • Gender: Male
  • Age: 6 years young
  • Size: 80-90 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes if submissive!
    • Cats? Yes!
    • Kids? 4+

This is a courtesy posting for Barley. Apply by submitting an online application and we will forward it to his current owner.

History

My mother saved me from what she thought was a puppy mill. It was somewhere in PA, but there were lots of dogs that weren’t in great shape and my sister lost an eye. We were living outside in a small pen in the mud. I had worms but we got that taken care of very quickly. I am so lucky she saved me.

Personality

I am a deeply good-natured, caring, loyal, and lovable guy. I have a very enthusiastic and energetic side, which you see when you throw sticks, balls, etc. for me! I am your best buddy for playing “run after things and bring them back!” I really, really love to catch sticks, balls anything that you can throw! I love the running part and also the catching part! It’s so awesome! But even though I am energetic and athletic, I’m not a crazy hyper sort of dog. I calm down just fine when we’re not playing and have a calm, centered, chill side to me too!

I can be very lovey when the mood strikes me, but in general, I’m a little bit more reserved and prefer to sit near you, just keeping an eye on you. My tail is always going (wag-wag-wag-wag!) so you know that I am happy just being near and watching. Heads up though—I have a strong tail, so you have to watch out for things on the coffee table!

I am pretty smart! I know stay, sit, lay down, who’s here?, go get it, and shake! Pretty impressive, right? Also, I am pretty good off-leash on your land (once I’m bonded to you and know the perimeter of the land). I generally stay in the yard and usually just run to the front of the road if I see someone, but when you call me, I usually come right back! Since I’m not 100% on this though, I shouldn’t be off leash if there are roads or cars nearby! Also, since I’m dicey with dominant dogs, I shouldn’t be off-leash on trails because you never know what other dogs are also out hiking!

Cohabitation

  • I love kids. In my current home, there ​is a 4 year old who is my best buddy.
  • I love licking ​him and he gently wrestle with me​, which is awesome. There is also an 8 month old, and though I like him too, I am too energetic for babies and younger toddlers ​like him. Too big a chance for accidents to happen with my big tail and enthusiastic ways!
  • I’m ok with other dogs as long as they are not dominant types (I get dominant around other dominant dogs). I have a beagle brother, and we get along just fine!
  • I am fine with cats. Don’t really care about them one way or the other.

Favorite Activities

  • I love to play catch! I love to run!
  • I love to eat my parents left overs!
  • I love chewing on bones and digging sticks out of the yard (I’m good at finding those)!

Why I am looking for a new home

My parents are looking for a new home for me because I don’t have much room to run, my parents don’t have the time to get me out and exercise me like I need, and there is a new baby that I am too energetic to be around. It makes them sad to do this but they think it will be best for everyone, including me, to find a new awesome home where I can get more attention and more exercise.

Medical

I’m very healthy! I am allergic to bee stings (my face swells up and I need to take some Benadyrl right away!) but other than that, I am the picture of health!

Summary

I am a really great dog! I listen really well, have a fun-loving personality, and am great with kids. I’d love a new forever home where I could run and play! My current family so badly wants me to be loved and happy and well taken care of!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed