Adopted: Minnie

Hello! My name is Minnie, I am a fun-loving, smart, and energetic young pup!

Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Australian Cattle Dog/German Shepard Mix
  • Gender: Female
  • Age: 8 months old
  • Size: 35 pounds and growing
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes!
    • Cats? Yes!
    • Kids? No, sorry!

I’m almost completely potty-trained! I know basic commands and I’ve started some “fun activity” training too.
Minnie is not a CDR dog and has not been evaluated by CDR. This is a courtesy posting for Minnie’s caretaker, who will make all decisions about her placement.


Thankfully, I was rescued from a high-kill shelter in Alabama by a dedicated adoption agency. They flew me up here with my brothers and sisters, and my human family found me pretty quick!!


I am a super loving, affectionate, sweet, and fun-loving, joyful pup! I love being with people and I love having fun!!

My favorite pastimes are snuggling on the couch with you and a toy, having my belly rubbed, playing fetch, and running in the field!! I also like to take fast walks, and am starting to learn leash manners! I’d probably love to run with you! I have lots of energy and am very fast! I make everyone laugh when I leap around in the snow, and exploring outside is super interesting to me!

I like to play fetch with you, inside or outside. I’m eager to learn and like to spend time with you training! I know how to fetch, sit, stay, wait patiently for my food and treats, and speak! That’s pretty great for a young pup like me, right? Sometimes I come, but I can get distracted, I know I have to work on that. I always try my best!

I also do some dog agility and I love it! I like walking on ramps (with your supervision and assurance), running through tunnels, and chasing down a hula hoop, running through it, knocking it down and carrying it back to you! It’s spectacular! I’m very proud of myself when I learn new things!

Playing with other dogs is a lot of fun for me. I’m not afraid, and I love it when we can both run fast and play chase! I’ve behaved well in a pack of dogs at the dog park, and I have demonstrated that I understand how to act when meeting dogs for the first time, as long as I know my humans aren’t too far away.


I love other dogs, especially ones that can keep up with me! Sometimes older dogs are a little overwhelmed by my energy, but I’ve mostly learned to adapt after a few minutes.

I live with 1 cat currently. She is older, and if we’re being honest here, is a bit of a grump–I want to play with her, but she doesn’t want to play with me! I keep trying to change her mind about that, and mom says I can get a little rough trying to play with her but I just so really want her to play with me! I will admit that I want to eat her food all the time, so mom has to keep that high up and far away from my paws! I do get to also visit another cat with my parents, and though that cat is very territorial, we can chill out in the same room, together! It makes my humans very impressed!

I currently live with 3 children, and although I love them all, and show them affection for sure, they stress me out immensely, as all of their weird sounds and movements are upsetting to me, and I can’t figure out where they—and I—fit in the pack order.

This is why I am looking for a new home.  I can be very anxious in their presence, and have growled at them repeatedly when upset and three times I have seriously nipped at them, causing scrapes/cuts and a bruise.  It seemed to be provoked by resource guarding… not wanting to share my chair/bed or food.  I didn’t hard bite (meaning, no puncture wounds), but it was for sure scary for us all and certainly means I need to be in a home without children.  It will be much better for everyone, me included, if I am in a family with just grownups!

Favorite Activities

  • Running fast!
  • Snuggling with you on the couch!
  • Learning new things! Getting treats and praise for learning!
  • Playing fetch!
  • Belly rubs! Neck scratchies!
  • Chewing toys and rawhide bones!
  • Exploring outside!
  • Curling up in front of the woodstove!


I’m a very healthy girl in all physical ways!

My parents have worked with a behaviorist and their veterinarian about my anxiety around the kids, and also because I am obsessive (seriously) about falling leaves in Fall. Falling leaves triggers this intense herding instinct, and all I can do is focus on the leaves in what looks like an OCD sort of way. I know that sounds kind of amusing, but when I can’t focus on anything else, take my word for it, it’s not fun for me—it’s stressful. Can you imagine feeling responsible to herd every last falling leaf? Ack! The vet put me on “doggy Prozac” (a veterinary SSRI), and this has helped me a good deal. It doesn’t make the anxiety and OCD focus on leaves go away altogether, but it helps decrease it. It’s everyone’s hope that, in a more stable environment without the constant daily stress of 3 kids that I might eventually be able to go medication-free.


I truly am a wonderful dog and a great companion!! Since I’m sweet, hard-working, and fun-loving, I’d be great for an active person that would enjoy the training and stimulation I need. Since I’m so smart, the possibilities are endless! I’m hoping to find someone that has a talent for training, patience, and lots of love to give. I promise that I’ll give it all back ten-fold! And since we know that I am not ok living with children, I should not be adopted by anyone in their 20s or 30s who might end up having a baby in my lifetime (i.e., in the next 14 years)!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and the rescue folks will forward it to my current mom, who will make all decisions about my placement!

Comments are closed.