Adopted: Clover

Hi, my name is Clover and I am a very sweet, adoring, and adorable girl!
Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Jack Russell Terrier/Beagle mix
  • Gender: Female, spayed
  • Age: 5-6 years old
  • Size: 19 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes!
    • Cats? Will be tested soon
    • Kids? 9+ (and no babies on the way)

History

I landed in a high-kill southern shelter, but was one of the lucky dogs who was spotted by a terrific rescue worker down there and sent up to Cayuga Dog Rescue to have a totally new, wonderful life!  Whoo-hoo!!  Life is so good now!​ By the way, the vet down south thought I was 7 years old, but our awesome local vet says, “nope, more like 5-6 years old at most” and our vet is brilliant, so we’re going with that!​

Personality

I am a very loving, very sweet girl with a spunky personality and a heart made of honey!  Once I get to know you, I am your best friend for life.  I get very attached to you and enjoy following you from room to room watching everything you do with an adoring face.  I love to be in your lap (my favorite!) or snuggling right alongside you on the couch (I don’t take up much space!), but am happy to scamper around keeping track of what everyone is doing if you’re being active

When you are home I am content to snuggle up next to you and nap or watch out of the window.  I love to snuggle, burrowing into laps or blankets with a few spins and them a plop down!  I like to snarfle and make cozy, snuffling, adorable (I’m told) sounds while I relax!

But I also love playing!  I absolutely adore playing fetch with my toys—tennis balls are my favorite—I think I’m a Labrador Retriever!   If you bounce my ball I’ll jump for it and then scramble around to chase it down!  Anything that squeaks evokes my delighted, mad scampering dash!  My foster parents say they are impressed with my puppy-like playfulness and energy—they think I would play fetch and bounce-the-ball all day long if they would keep tossing toys for me!

I love going for leashed walks!  I seem game to go as far as my foster parents want to take me…we did a brisk hour long walk today and I would have been happy to go farther!  I seem like that perfect mix of content and chill indoors, but game for athletic adventure outdoors, yet I don’t seem to “need” that big outdoor exercise like some dogs do.  I’m fine either chilling out or being active, though ideally would like to get a balance of both.

Like most terriers, it’s my job to keep an eye on what is happening outside, and I will do my best to scare away cars and passers by with a little growl or a bark.  When out on leashed walks, I am often happy to meet other people and their dogs, but sometimes I seem nervous about a person and will do a barking-growling thing at them instead.  We’re not sure exactly what makes the difference, but will keep looking for patterns. When the doorbell rings, I get excited and bark, but I calm down pretty quickly once the visitors are inside and we all make good friends!

One thing that can stress me out a bit is to be handled when I’m asleep, especially if I’m in a new situation or with people who I don’t know well. It kind of scares me, so best if you save your kisses and petting until I’m awake, especially while I am getting to know and trust you!

Cohabitation

I am very sweet with everyone I have met!  Once I get to know you, I want as much attention and affection as you care to share!

There are no other dogs in my foster home, but I was fine with dogs at the shelter from where I was rescued, and I spent my first few days in Ithaca at the (great) Bed and Biscuit Kennel, and they said I was absolutely fine with all of the dogs who I met there.  I had some opinions about how the other dogs interacted with me though–I didn’t like dogs sticking their noses into my private areas, so would tell them so in a clear, firm, and fair way.  I am happy and excited to meet dogs when we are out on leashed walks, and have done very well with those meetings.  I have heard that I am going to get to visit the dog park soon, so I will let you know how that goes!

I enjoyed meeting some kids in the 6-9 year old age range, and am going to meet a baby or toddler soon! We’re thinking that since I prefer not to be handled when I’m asleep, I’d probably enjoy most being in a home with kids no younger than 9 (younger kids might have a hard time remembering this)!
No cat testing yet, but that should be done by the end of February.

Favorite Activities

  • Snuggling with you!  Sitting on your lap!
  • Keeping tabs on what you’re doing!
  • Playing fetch and bounce-the-ball with you!
  • Going for fun leashed walks!

Medical

I’m a super healthy girl!  No issues!

Summary

I’m a fabulous love of a little dog.  I love my people and I love sharing my days with you!  I’m looking for someone who wants a cuddly lap dog but who also will enjoy my playful nature and who will throw balls for me and take me out on fun walks.  Will probably be happy either as an only dog or in a home with another dog!  Come and meet me…can’t wait!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed