Adopted: Callie

Hello! My Name is Callie! I love the outdoors and cuddling on the couch!!
Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Catahoula mix
  • Gender: Female, spayed
  • Age: 1 years old
  • Size: 54 pounds
  • Good with…
    • Dogs? Yes!
    • Cats? Yes…with dog friendly cats!
    • Kids? 9+


I came from a very nice family who unfortunately did not have enough time to care for me. They told the person who runs the kennel/grooming place where I had been that they were going to have to surrender me to the local shelter, and that great person knew that would be awful for me. I boarded at her kennel once, and was so scared and depressed—not anything like my normal self. So, she contacted CDR and managed to get me into their foster program, which has been SUCH a relief! I have been staying with four veterinary students for the past few weeks, and have been learning so many new things! I can now sit on command, I can stay on command, and I am improving with my “leave it” commands. I like to high-five with my paw! I have a voracious appetite, but am very respectful when handed treats!


I have so much energy and love long walks! I am very athletic and enjoy running around outside, as long as the promise of a long nap on the couch is included. I like to play with sticks on the grass, and am improving at fetch. I enjoy chasing my own tail and chewing on my toys. One of my favorite activities is exploring my surroundings and sniffing everything that I possibly can. I am very affectionate and love to lay my head on your lap, give kisses, and clean humans’ ears with my tongue. I like to have my back and belly rubbed, and will nuzzle up against a human if they start to scratch me. I also love to get my ears scratched, and will put my paws on your lap as soon as you start. I really like sleeping in my crate, and as soon as I even hear the word ‘crate’ I run inside of it. I sleep peacefully through the night and snuggle up with my blanket.


I am very social, and have no problem being around lots of new people at once. I have not yet met any small children.

I love dogs, and have a very rough-n-tumble play style, so it’s probably best for me to only live with other medium to large sized dogs. I could accidentally hurt a small dog with my exuberance!

I have not yet met any cats, but I have a high prey drive, so folks are guessing I might need a cat-free home. We’ll try to get that checked out when we can!

Favorite Things

  • Cuddling!
  • Going for walks!
  • Watching animal planet with human companions on the couch!
  • Collecting sticks outside!
  • Playing tug-of-war with toys!
  • Learning anything new while getting treats!


I have no medical issues, I am up-to-date on all standard vaccinations, and I am spayed.


I am a wonderful dog, who is so sweet and affectionate. I have lots of energy, so the ideal adopter will want to go for brisk walks or jogs and it would be awesome if they also had a fenced in yard so that I can play outside regularly. I am very smart and learning important commands and tricks, but the ideal adopter will be home enough to continue my important training sessions. I am very strong and sometimes pull forcefully when on the leash, but I am learning to respect commands to “wait”. I have had trouble working on ‘impulse control’- if I see a squirrel outside I start barking like mad. I am hopeful that with continued training I will improve on this aspect. My foster family is very sad that I will be leaving them, but they are excited for the life I will have with permanent adoptive parents!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, Rochester, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed.