Adopted: Remmy

Hi – my name is Remmy and I am learning how much fun it is to play!
Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Great Pyrenees mix
  • Gender: Male, neutered
  • Age: 1 years old
  • Size: 52 pounds
  • Good with…
  • Dogs? Yes(best with females)!
  • Cats? Yes!
  • Kids? No experience yet!

Background

I was rescued from a high-kill shelter in Kentucky, and though the rescue folks have no idea about my past, they are pretty sure that people were not nice to me. I was sooooo very scared of people when I first arrived, but am confused and amazed to be finding out that people can be kind, and fun, and loving. I have been with my foster mom since Thanksgiving and I am slowly beginning to trust her, and this is a whole new, fantastic, amazing world for me. My foster mom says it is the most rewarding thing in the world to earn the trust of a scared dog, that it just fills your heart and makes you feel so wonderful. I’m glad to hear that, because this whole new experience is pretty darned wonderful on my end too!

Personality

When I first came to my foster home, I was so very afraid of people that I hid behind the couch most of the time. It was the only place that I felt safe. My foster mom put a quilt back there so I would have a secure place, which was very nice of her. It took about 3 weeks during which time I ventured out a bit more and more, and as of a week ago, I stopped camping out back there at all. I now like to lie on the couch or sleep on the bed, which everyone tells me is a huge step forward!

I love to be petted! It took me a while to feel safe about this human contact stuff, but I find that petting is wonderful! I love it! I like to have my ears scratched and my butt scratched and my chest scratched and all kinds of gentle massage and soft pets are great! I’m not much of a cuddler or snuggler at this point, and I may stay this way forever, or I may blossom into a cuddler or snuggler as I mature and get more comfortable with people, there is no way to tell. I do really like to lie on the couch with my foster mom or the other dogs though! We all chill together very well after we’ve had plenty of romping out in the fenced yard!

It took a few weeks before I felt safe enough to go out for a leashed walk, so it was a godsend that there was a fenced yard here. It will likely be the same when I move to my forever home, so it would be super helpful if there is a fenced yard there too. At this point I can walk for a mile and feel okay about it, unless there are sudden noises or people approaching. If either of those happen, I freeze in my tracks and immediately want to go back home.

It’s all about baby steps for scared dogs like me…taking things slowly, building up our confidence, and doing a little bit more of the thing that scares us over time. No big walks for me right off the bat please…that would NOT be fun, it would be traumatic!

Cohabitation

I get along really well with the 3 Labs in the house! We play and play and play and hang out and lay around together and even share a crate sometimes! Even though I would like to sleep on the bed with my foster mom and her 3 Labs, we like to play so much that my foster mom ends up getting no sleep, so now I am sleeping in a crate next to the bed, so we can all get a little shut-eye. My interactions are perfect with both female dogs, and are very good with the male dog, though I do seem to follow him around in a way that makes him nervous at times. We’re not sure what that’s all about, but might be some funny boy-boy dynamic.

I’m very shy with new people, and need folks to be patient and allow me to gain trust with time. Once I know you well, I’m very friendly and love being near you! If you have one visitor over it’s easier for me; if you have several, it is much scarier.

I’m fine sharing toys and most things with both people and other dogs except marrow bones. Marrow bones get me all possessive and weird, and I could even be snappy if you try to take it away from me, so my foster mom does not give me marrow bones anymore and all is just fine!

I don’t have experience with kids but I allowed teens to pet me behind the couch.

The cat in the house and I have an understanding – I don’t go near her and she doesn’t swat me!

Favorite Things

  • Playing with the other dogs!
  • Chasing the dogs around in the fenced yard!
  • Playing tug of war!
  • Dragging clothes, pillows and toys out the doggy door!
  • Being petted!
  • Learning new things!
  • Gaining trust and not feeling scared all the time!

Medical

I am very healthy! No problems at all!

Summary

I am a big, awesome, silly, wonderful puppy who needs a loving home with someone who understands that new things and new people are very scary for me, and will have loving patience to help me continue to gain confidence and trust. Another large playful dog in the home (preferably female) and a fenced in yard would be ideal so I can run around and play chase and wrestle! I would love to take a positive training course once I get comfortable with my new people—they tell me it’s a wonderful way to gain confidence and feel good about myself, and that sounds fantastic! Whoever adopts me will have a fabulous friend for life!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and the rescue folks will forward it to my current foster mom, who (in consultation with the Great Pyrenees rescue worker who saved me) will make all decisions about my placement!

Comments are closed