Adopted: Shaggy


Hi, my name is Shaggy and I am a very sweet, loving, and exuberantly happy boy!

    Quick Fact Sheet:

  • Breed: Rottweiler mix
  • Gender: Male, neutered
  • Age: 10 (but I seem 3!)
  • Size: 65-70 pounds
  • Good with…
  • Dogs?Females, yes!
  • Cats? Yes!
  • Kids? Yes!

History:

I landed in a scary shelter at age 3, and I don’t remember my life before then, so can’t tell you anything about that. That was 7 years ago. Luckily I was adopted by an awesome mom, and I have lived so happily with her and her female dog since (that dog passed away a while ago). Mom loves me to pieces and wishes she could keep me forever, but she had to move from NC to NY suddenly to provide long-term care for an ill relative, and I’m not allowed to stay there. It’s very sad. I had to be kept in the garage for a little while, but recently mom found a kennel that could board me long-term, so I am moving there soon. It will be sad to be away from mom, but it’s a better, more comfortable situation for me until I find my new wonderful forever home!

Personality

I am a very affectionate, very loving, super friendly dog whose heart is bursting with smiles all the time. I love being near my people, and I love to give kisses and get my belly rubbed! I am quite easygoing and I love to be petted and massaged pretty much anywhere. I love your attention and affection so very much! I also love being brushed… if I see you with a brush I will follow you anywhere, in excited anticipation of my brushing! Also—get this—I enjoy being vacuolated! No lie! It makes my coat fluffy and it makes me feel like a movie star. I’m a bit silly I think!

I know I’m supposed to be a senior dog, but honestly, I act like a very young pup! I’m enthusiastic and full of happy delight, am ready for an adventure at any time, and am curious, interested, and fun-loving. I’m energetic, and would go-go-go if I wasn’t held back a bit by my achy hips. That’s really the only thing that shows that I’m not youngster!

I love playing with my toys! My favorite toy is my squeaky squirrel—I just love that one so much! I have many toys and I always really appreciate when you give me a new one! Over the course of a day, I might gather up all of my toys and put them in a big pile in one room. It’s pretty hilarious, I am told! I just like to know where they are! You never know when I might be struck by the urge to play with them all! Sometimes I will play with them by myself but am always delighted if you want to play with them with me!

I enjoy going for walks and like to sniff everything! I know some cool commands–my mom is very patient and taught me how to sit, stay, lay down and give paw! I love learning new things when we make it fun and use treats!

I do not bark/speak unless I want to warn you about something that is happening around me that I think you should know about. I will bark at other dogs when I see them, or if someone comes to the front door. But I’m not barky just for the sake of barking…that makes no sense to me! When I am excited it sometimes takes me a second to calm down, but i do listen and do as I am asked.

When evening comes around I usually go lay down on my bed. I LOVE my bed!! I prefer to be in the same room as you are–I like to know where you are and most of the time during the day I will lay right under your feet. I like to be close. I have so much love in my heart.

I enjoy riding in the car and I enjoy going to the vet! I get my nails done at the vet office, and don’t mind this at all.

Cohabitation

I love people!!!!

I love kids!! I love playing with kids, and i enjoy just watching them run around and play too. It makes me happy just watching them have fun!!

I like cats!!

When I meet stranger dogs, I act like I don’t like them at all. But if I were introduced properly to a nice dog (only 1 at a time please), I would probably be fine. I LOVED the other female dog in my house. We used to play together all the time, and loved to play in the snow together. I would likely love any other nice female dog. I haven’t had experience with male dogs, so not sure how that would go. [Note; if you want an information sheet on how to properly introduce dogs, email CDR and they will send it to you.

Medical

I’m in great health! I have arthritis in my left hip, but do not let my arthritis slow me down! My mom only lets me run in the fenced yard for short periods of time, so I don’t overdo it. She walks me on the leash for exercise, which is better for me, as I can’t run and overdo. I can go up and down stairs, but should be restricted to going up and down about twice a day. I will want to follow you up and down every time you go, so you might need to baby gate the stairs to stop me from doing that! I take an anti-inflammatory medicine and a joint supplement every day (fish oil would be great for me too).

I eat grain free food because the doctors think I have an allergy to grain. My tummy doesn’t do well with pig’s ears, hooves, rawhides or synthetic chews, so for treats, I need dog biscuits or simple things like cheese or chicken. I really like apples, green beans and cucumbers too!

Favorite Activities

  • Playing with my toys!
  • Riding in the car!
  • Having my head and neck rubbed!
  • Being brushed!
  • Trying to catch the vacuum hose when the vacuum is running!
  • Going for walks!

Summary

I am a very sweet, loving, easygoing and loving, happy dog. I am looking for a home with a kind fun-loving family who will love my energetic and exuberant personality. I will miss my mom, but I know she wants me to be happy and find a nice family to live with. I may be 10 years old, but I behave like a puppy, but I’m totally housebroken, which makes me better than a pup!

If you are interested in adopting me, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed