Adopted: Robby

Hello, my name is Robby! I am a very happy, loving, and active 1 year old male Terrier/Chihuahua mix.

    Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Terrier/Chi mix (we think!)
  • Gender: Male, neutered
  • Age: 1 yr
  • Size: 22 lbs
  • Good with…
  • Dogs? Yes, see below
  • Cats? Maybe, see below
  • Kids? YES!

***Robby is not a CDR dog and has not been evaluated by CDR. This is a courtesy posting for Robby’s parents, who will make all decisions about Robby’s placement. To apply for Robby, fill out an online adoption application and the rescue folks will forward it to my parents, who will be in touch!***


My story is a typical one – I was born in the backwoods of Kentucky, and then was living life as a stray when I had an unfortunate meeting with a car, which left me with a broken leg.  Luckily, a kind rescue group found me, got me good veterinary care, and helped me through my recovery in foster homes. This gave me the chance to meet other people and dogs, and after I was fully recovered (my leg is great now!), I was rehomed to a family in Pennsylvania (not too far from Ithaca), which is where I have been for 3 months now.

Unfortunately, the family who I am now living with have four cats who had minimal dog experience before my arrival and who have not adjusted to sharing their home with a dog at all.  My new family has tried lots of things to help us adjust to each other, including working with a trainer on the issue, but the cats are horribly stressed, not improving at all, and I’m starting to feel a little stressed about it all too.  It’s very sad for everyone, but we are all in agreement that I need to find a home where my wonderful, loving, friendly presence is a joy to everyone in the house, and this is certainly not the case for the cats, and looks like it will never be.


I am such a friendly and loving boy! I want to play, play, play, and then snuggle, snuggle, snuggle!  As a terrier, I have a lot of energy and need plenty of exercise, but I also love cuddling on the couch and watching a movie so much too!   Most importantly, I just want to be with my people when they are home. During the day, I go in my crate and that doesn’t bother me, although my mom does come home to walk me during the day. Part of my stress comes from the fact that I cannot go in parts of the house because of the cats, and I don’t like sleeping on my own, or being left downstairs, which we have to do now.

I have a lot of toys and chews, and because I am barely out of puppyhood, I want to play with them a lot!!  Chewing is not too much of an issue for me (my toys are all still the originals!), but occasionally my inner pup does get the best of me, and I have eaten a shoe or two. On the bright side, I love games! Tuggy and fetch are such awesome games!  I loved all the snow because then my family would throw handfuls in the air and I could catch them! I have recently found something even better than snow – BUBBLES! Did I mention that I love playing with people? I love it!!!

I also love going for walks!  My mom tries to get me out on at least four walks a day because our family’s yard does not have a fence and I want to run around so much and explore my world! My family has been working on obedience training with me, and I done amazingly well with my trainer!  Not to brag, but I am told that I am super smart, and can now sit, walk on the leash well, leave it, and watch my owner!  My family really want me and my new family to benefit from all the great training I have received, and they will want to make sure my new family gets a chance to meet my trainer and learn all my commands (they will pay for a session so that can happen!).

I LOVE squirrels (they do not love me back).  And I LOVE to chase.  If a cat or a squirrel runs of , I bolt after then in hot pursuit!   Ditto cars and trucks.  Seriously.  I love to chase right at them.  Totally dangerous, right?  You’d think I would have learned my lesson after having been hit by a car and breaking my leg, but my attitude seems to be, “Rematch!”  Needless to say, I need to be on leash at all times (held tightly!) and will need a fenced in yard for any and all off-leash play!


I am great with kids!!  My best buddy is actually the same age as me—about 1 year old!   I am so gentle and kind with him, and one of my favorite times is when we sit together and he strokes me ears. I am very exuberant, so I do get a little excited when my family gets home, and I am still working on not jumping up, as I can sometimes bowl the kids over in my excitement to say hello.

I love adults! I love their attention, their petting, having outdoor adventures with them (walks, hikes), and just hanging out and snugging and cuddling and sharing the stories of our days! I am pretty outgoing and love all people that I meet! When someone arrives at the house, I will run barking to the door, but I am just wanting to give them a proper hello.

I have started going to doggy daycare with other dogs a couple of times a week, and it is awesome!! I get the chance to run around all day just having fun, and I get to meet a lot of other dogs who play with me. After I finish a session, I am so tired that I sleep for a day! I like getting the chance to meet other dogs although I do still suffer from ‘small dog syndrome’ with bigger dogs. This means I feel a bit insecure  about my size and so I try to act really tough, barking and letting my hackles rise.   I would do best in a home with dogs my own size or as an only dog, but if introductions were careful and thoughtful, maybe I could make friends with a bigger dog with some time! I am trying to get my confidence up through daycare.

I am very interested in cats and when they run from me or hiss, it makes me super excited and I can’t leave them alone!  I have never been overly aggressive to the cats I live with now, but I cannot leave them alone, which these cats hate, and has resulted in me living downstairs while they live upstairs.

Favorite Activities:

  • Playing with my family, particularly with my toys like me rope and my ball.
  • Going for walks – everything is so interesting
  • Snuggling up on the couch – if my family didn’t know better, they would say I was a cat because I am always laying in their laps.
  • Being with my family, and generally just getting a lot of love and attention.

Medical Concerns/Special Needs:

None that we are aware of. I did have a broken leg, but it doesn’t really bother me now. I limped a little on it when it was soooo cold, but other than that, I don’t even notice it. My vet has checked me out, and I am very recently fully vaccinated, wormed, microchipped, and neutered, so I am all set. I have a good appetite and like my treats!


I am a wonderful dog, who would be an amazing fit for an active person who loves brisk walks or jogs or hikes and who wants a bundle of happy enthusiasm who also loves to cuddle and chill out next to you.  I have a lot of energy and a super smart personality, and I really need a home that will be able to work on my natural chase instincts.  I would make a wonderful family pet, and my family are so sad that they cannot keep me!!

To apply to adopt me, fill out an adoption application and the rescue folks will forward it to my current owners!

Comments are closed.