Adopted: Lulu

I am a very sweet, affectionate, active and adventurous looking for a home where I can be your lovebug!

    Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Schipperke/Rat Terrier mix
  • Gender: Female spayed
  • Age: 4 yrs old
  • Size: 12 lb
  • Good with…
  • Dogs? Just OK,
  • Cats? Unknown
  • Kids? Unknown

I came all the way from KY, where I was originally in a high-kill, very crowded shelter. I was taken there by my former owner with my housemate Skippy. Our former owner felt she was not able to care for us anymore and wanted us to find a good home. The shelter needed to make some space, so luckily the lady in the shelter told the great people at CDR about us and were able to hitch a ride on the transport to Ithaca! Skippy and I lived together with our former owner but we are not very close (we don’t play together or pal around together) and truth be told, each of us would actually prefer having a new family all to ourselves!!!
I am very sweet, affectionate and cuddly! I love to play with balls and plush toys and will play by myself or sometimes with the other dogs that live in my foster home. I am curious and like to keep busy keeping an eye on things around the house. My foster mom says that my absolute favorite thing is to snuggle up with her or my foster dad. But I am just as happy to give up the snuggling time to head out for a walk! I love walks!!!
I have great house manners and am completely housebroken. I come when I am called (inside!) and walk very nicely on a leash. I like to spend most of my time hanging out with my people and prefer to either be laying beside them on the couch so I am touching them, or laying right in their lap. At night time I am ok sleeping in my own bed on the floor but I have to know you are right there next to me, otherwise I will bark because I am lonely. If you would consider letting me snuggle in bed with you, I would be over the moon.
The hugest pleasure in my life is being with my family. I prefer to have my family to myself and sometimes get a little upset if Skippy or one of the other 2 dogs in my foster home try to come near when I am next to my foster mom or dad. That is why we think I would be happiest and would do best as the only dog in a home. I would love to soak up your attention all to myself!
I don’t bark very much at all, but if the other dogs in my foster home get to barking, I will happily follow along. I wait my turn to take treats and take them very nicely and gently. My foster mom says I seem to know basic commands and we are working on them to refresh my memory.
Favorite Activities:
Snuggling up and hanging out next to my person, touching them or laying on their lap!
Getting a belly rub!
Playing with a ball or plush toys– I am able to totally entertain myself!
Going for walks, but not as much in this really cold weather! I need to wear a coat but I still get cold pretty quickly!
I am pretty outgoing and love all people that I meet!
I like to be the only dog so I can have all the snuggle time. It’s possible that I could learn to live all right with another dog, but I’m hoping for a home as an only pooch!
I am not living with any cats in my foster home so we honestly don’t know and would have to test it out if you had one. We are not sure if I would be more willing to share my person with a cat than a dog.
We do not know if I have ever been around children so would have to check that out!
Medical Concerns/Special Needs:
None that we are aware of. I was checked out by the vet in KY before I came to Ithaca and got a clean bill of health. I have a good appetite and like my treats !
I am a loving, sweet, affectionate, cutie patootie! I am hoping for a forever home where I am free to love, adore and snuggle with you. I can’t wait to be someone’s incredibly loyal snuggle bug!
If you are interested in adopting Lulu, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed.