Adopted: Skippy


Hi everyone, my name is Skippy!  I am a very sweet, affectionate, mellow, 6 year old male, neutered Schipperke mix!

Quick Facts:

  • Breed: Schipperke/Terrier mix
  • Gender: Male neutered
  • Age: 6 years old
  • Size: 12 lbs
  • Good with…
  • Dogs? OK, but want to be your only dog!
  • Cats? Yes
  • Kids? 12+

Background:

I came all the way from KY, where I was originally in a high-kill, very crowded shelter. I landed in that
scary place when my former owner felt she was not able to care for me anymore. The shelter needed to
make some space (aka put a bunch of us to sleep), so luckily a volunteer lady in the shelter told the great
people at CDR about me. They had a place with a warm bed for me, and I was able to hitch a ride on the
transport to Ithaca!

Personality:

Whenever someone hangs out with me, the first word they think of is “mellow.” I hear some dogs have a Napoleon complex (you know, little body, big attitude) – but that’s not me. I don’t boss people around, I don’t need to rule the roost with my person, I just like to chill. I’m very zen like that. I have very simple needs, too. Is my person around to cuddle? Check. Is there a comfy surface with a blanket? Check. Food? Check. Okay, I’m good. I have a gentle and laid-back energy, and my foster mom says my main indoor activities are cuddling, snuggling, and napping.

But while I’m mellow, I can be peppy. I have a very sweet, gentle energy. When you tell me that it’s time to go for a walk, get a belly rub or eat I get very excited and am ready to go!!! I will dance a bit while you get my leash together. Heck, I will dance when you are getting my food together for breakfast or dinner — a little cha-cha of excitement, if you will!

This summer, I enjoyed hiking, backpacking and road trips. Like we said, I am very relaxed. I was a great companion because my chill attitude made me roll with whatever came out way (except water — I had to be carried across water in a little backpack, but because I am so tiny I fit right in!). Being outside is a great! I’m portable and I have good stamina for a little dog! I am pretty much active when you want me to be, and left to my own devices, I charge my batteries with naps. Just getting ready for the next activity!

Let me tell you, I love my people. I am not really a lap dog, but I love sleeping next to you and getting face access for extra kisses! In my current house, I have a bed right beside my people’s bed, and I am quite happy — although I would not mind being invited in bed if that’s your preference! I just want to be near you, or I get lonely. Comfy surface > everything. In the morning, I will wake up several times and do a “bed check.” I can’t see my people from the floor, so I will pop my head over the side of the bed (it’s quite a reach, I’m tiny!) to see if my people are still there. You see, I am a heavy sleeper, so my people can wake up and I can miss it. So when I find an empty bed, I am so excited!! I come rushing downstairs to find my people. When I find them, I do a happy stretch/play bow because I know the day is starting and my people are here!

I am just as excited to end the day with you. If you need to go out, I am happiest in a blanket-lined, snuggly den of a crate where I can nap. When you get back, I love cuddling with my foster mom while she unwinds. I come when I am called (indoors!) and walk very nicely on a leash. I like to spend most of my time hanging out with my people and when not cuddling, like to be sleeping in my own bed on the floor….or on the furniture, wherever I am allowed! If I am allowed somewhere, just put a blanket on it. I loooove to burrow my little body under layers of blankets. My people can be in the kitchen, and if my bed is in the next room, that’s where I will be waiting for them to come out. I’m smart enough to know there are no blankets in the kitchen!

I like to chew and chase after small stuffed animals that you throw for me! In my current foster home, I live with a cat, and it’s so funny. The cat wants my toys… and I prefer his toys! Maybe in another life I was a cat? I like to run around with this little mouse toy, and some of those shiny fluff balls that cats get. The smaller toys fit me just fine! I like about 30 minutes of play time a day, and then it’s sleepy time. Me and Mr. Kitty pretty much ignore each other, because we are both happy just being around our people.

Outside the house, I am quite the ladies’ man. Whenever I go out for a walk, I’m always wagging my tail and approaching women!   I’m a total charmer, you should see me in action!  I love meeting all sorts of people outside the house (although larger dogs — which is any dog — make me nervous sometimes). Sometimes I am shy around men, but I warm up to them after they prove they’re nice — I have even gone hiking with male people who are friends with my foster mom.

I don’t bark very much at all when you’re home, and don’t have a very loud voice.

I’m a smart little guy!  My foster mom took me to a basic training class and I did very well!  Graduated magna cum laude!   I had a lot of fun, really enjoyed all the treats, and didn’t fuss about the other dogs while I was on leash.

Favorite Activities:

  • Napping near my person!
  • Snuggling on fuzzy blankets and making pillow forts!
  • Getting a belly rub…but I only like them when I am sitting up!
  • My favorite food in the world is Parmesan hot dogs, used for a training treat!
  • >Going for walks and hikes! I am active when you want me to be, but if left to my own devices… I’ll be napping, thanks. In cold weather, I need to wear a coat because I get cold pretty quickly!

Cohabitation:

Outside of the house, I am great. I love people, kids, flowers, trees, everything! I prance and dance and give kisses to all the ladies. I am really quite fun to travel with!

In my territory, I am a little shy around new people. This is very typical with small dogs — our home is our safe bubble, and we’re concerned when strange people come into our bubble and near our people. When I first came into Cayuga Dog Rescue, I would hide under tables and avoid new people at all costs. Now, I generally warm up to women really quickly (especially if they have treats and good dog-sense). When one of our volunteers came over, early in my training, she crouched down to get at my level and tossed a few treats my way – after that we were best friends, and I even tried to give her kisses! But I am more anxious about men. I might bark when they come in to my space, although this isn’t always a given. I am getting better about letting them into my space. For most people hot dogs help, but sometimes I am totally okay, like when a really tall repairman came over who I had never met, I was excited to see him and followed him all over the place.

We are working with an amazing trainer to get me more comfortable. My forever family would need to help me by continuing this training — I don’t like being shy, and I am already improving so much! My foster mom thinks that maybe with more exposure and a very gentle-hearted man, I would be okay, but for now, I need a home with at least one woman to build that trust. Having one mom around to soothe me would be great! I would likely be good around older kiddos who were a bit calmer, not going to play with me when I am not interested (or sleeping), and could understand good dog manners.

I like to be the only dog so I can have all the snuggle time. I really am not keen on letting other dogs into my space, although outside the house I am totally okay – especially if they are about my size and also mellow dudes.

I am living with one cat in my foster home and everything is A-OK! I would be good in a home with dog-savvy cats, especially older cats.

Medical Concerns/Special Needs:

None that we are aware of. I was checked out by Cornerstone Vet and they have declared me a very healthy dog!

Summary:

I am a very relaxed, sweet companion!  My favorite things include fuzzy blankets, pillow forts, and curling up to sleep next to my person (or people)! I am very calm and easy going, but can act timid, so I need a bit of patience. But if you will give me a chance, I will love you with every fiber of my being!

If you are interested in adopting Skippy, please fill out an online adoption application and live close to Ithaca , Syracuse, Binghamton, or Elmira. We do home visits on every applicant, and can’t do home visits where we don’t have local volunteers.

Comments are closed